FIU Libraries: Rhetoric and Composition Research Guide: Accessing Databases

To access general database (not field specific) resources

Research Start

Click the “Research Start” box in the middle of the page. Here you can access the most frequently used research databases such as Academic Search Complete and ProQuest.

FIU Libraries
Click here to search the catalog, connect to off-campus access, find course reserves, schedule group study rooms, research scholarly article databases, chat with a librarian on "Ask Us", & find guides on researching, programs of study, and specific courses.

To access more discipline-specific resources

Go to the FIU Library’s Subject Guides to access resources listed by “by Subject & Librarian.”
Use the drop-down menu and click on “Literature, Poetry, and Composition,” then click on the “Databases” tab. You will then have access to the main literature, poetry, and some composition resources, including JSTOR and Project MUSE, and the MLA International Bibliography.
You may also find relevant sources in the field of education. To access education resources, use the drop-down menu and click on “Education,” then click on the “Databases” tab. You will then have access to the main education database resources, including ERIC.

Literature, Poetry, and Composition Resources
There will be a tab for research guides & one for the databases. Guides will help you research & explain ways to find better results. Clicking databases will go straight to subject specific databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic full text of back files of 644+ scholarly journals. Recent years are not available; FIU has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Complement, Ecology and Botany Collection I & II, Life Sciences, Business IV, and the Jewish Studies Collection. During the COVID-19 pandemic, JSTOR is assisting students and researchers by making expanded content available. This expanded content includes no-cost access to unlicensed collections, and to 35,000 (and counting) books and other e-resources as JSTOR partners continue to join in the effort.

This database includes an AI component (like a Research Assistant) that employs a large language model (LLM) to interpret user queries and respond using a curated collection of proprietary materials.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Electronic full text of 100+ scholarly journals published by several University presses; FIU subscribes to Project Muse Standard and Premium Collections.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing; Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources; This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index; Indexes scholarly and trade journals as well as unpublished documents in all aspects of education; Coverage starts 1966.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Rhetoric and Composition Research Guide

To access general database (not field specific) resources

To access more discipline-specific resources

Information

Libraries

Contact