Health Literacy Resources

The largest collection of leading nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive database for nursing and allied health research offering full-text access to the most frequently cited journals.

AgeLine, Biological Abstracts 1969 - Present, CINAHL, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, SPORTDiscus - combined search of all these databases

Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration

Provides access to 550+ scholarly full text journals, indexes 850+ journals in nursing and allied health; Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Indexes 5,160+ international scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences.

via FIU Medical Library ; International scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Also includes OLDMEDLINE, National Library of Medicine's online database of approximately 1,700,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1948 through 1965.

International scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Health information on diseases and conditions, preventive medicine, drugs, clinical trials, physician and hospital directories, a medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, plus links to Medline citations. Also available in Spanish.

via FIU Medical Library ; Biomedical database with over 28 million records and a strong focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine.

via the FIU Medical Library ; A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'; With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed Plus systematically identifies, selects, evaluates, interprets and summarizes new evidence from more than 500 medical journals to ensure clinicians have the information they need to make best-informed patient care decisions.

via FIU Medical Library; Provides medical books, journals, practice guidelines, patient education information, drug information, multimedia materials, and CME resources.

via FIU Medical Library; Evidence-based resources including textbooks, compiled clinical scenarios, education guides, and learning tools.

Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Provides up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets.

Indexes 1,200+ nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources; Indexes almost all journals included into Health and Wellness Resource Center, as well as 180+ additional titles.

via FIU Medical Library ; Fulltext EBM resource that has information on diagnosis, prognosis, therapy, and drugs. Also includes calculators, algorithms, images, and more.

Gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies; Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.

Gateway to 40+ medical, health-related and clinical journals available from Ovid.

This database focuses exclusively on the population aged 50 and over and issues of aging and social gerontology; Designed for researchers, professionals, students and general consumers, this database addresses aging issues from individual, national and global perspectives.

Health services, social work, sociology and psychology - journal articles;This database spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large; Access to a wide array of public health information and contains reports, guidelines and public health data.

Searchable database which provides patients, family members and the public with information about current ongoing clinical research studies; ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

NOTE: On-site/on-campus registration is required to access the resource from off-campus. Teaches neuroanatomy in a purely kinesthetic way; The user draws each neuroanatomical pathway and structure, and in the process, creates memorable and reproducible schematics for the various learning points in Neuroanatomy in a hands-on, enjoyable and highly effective manner.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).

Indexes tests, measures, survey instruments, rating scales, and questionnaires on human health and behavior.

This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.

International bibliography of history of science, technology, and medicine.

Provides a single point of access to current HRSA information, health resources, and demographic data for reporting on HRSA activities; Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is an Agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; As the Nations Access Agency, HRSA focuses on uninsured, under-served, and special needs populations.

Indexes 350+ international scholarly journals and other publications in the agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries; Subfile of Biological Sciences, Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.

Covers literature related to the health sciences & contains articles from about 670 of the most well-known journals in the medical field ; Includes theses, chapters of theses, books, chapters of books, congress and conference proceedings, technical and scientific reports and governmental publications.

Search several indexes to the literature of disability and rehabilitation; Coverage includes journal articles, books, funded research projects and Internet sites.

via FIU Medical Library; An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.

Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

Worldwide index to the literature of nutrition, including: analytical methods, foods, physiology and biochemistry, human health and nutrition, nutritional disorders and therapeutic nutrition. Updated monthly.

Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports; The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Indexes international scholarly publications in population, family planning and related health issues; Specializes in issues related to developing countries.

Indexes 2,300+ international scholarly journals, books, book chapters, reports and other publications in psychology and related disciplines; Many records, added to the database since 1998, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.

Indexes publications on the biochemical, pharmaceutical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas; Gateway to following databases: HSDB, IRIS, ITER, CCRIS, GENE-TOX, Tox Town, Household Products Database, Haz-Map, TOXMAP, LactMed, TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, Toxics Release Inventory, ChemIDplus.

Provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.

Coverage starts 1977; Literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions; Core Collection includes the following resources: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science,
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities, Book Citation Index Science, Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus.