FIU Libraries: Free Speech, Academic Freedom, &amp; Intellectual Freedom: Find Help

LibGuide Editor

Melissa Del Castillo

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Architecture, Art & Art History

MDC Quick Links

Contact your Librarian
Melissa Del Castillo
Schedule a Meeting or Consultation with Melissa
Choose a date & time
Melissa's Online Meeting Room
zoom room for virtual office hours
Architecture Research Guides & Databases
search architecture resources
Art Research Databases & Guides
search art resources

Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. If you would like to reuse any part of this LibGuide for noncommercial purposes, please credit the guide's creators or the original content creator as noted, and include a link to the source. Melissa Del Castillo, FIU Libraries

Additional Libraries to Consider

Your FIU One Card gives you borrowing privileges at Florida's State Universities and Community College Libraries. Present your activated FIU One Card at the libraries to borrow materials.

Local Public Libraries are a good source of Information.

WorldCat will locate books, DVDs, CDs, and articles at your local Public and Academic Libraries.

Tutoring @ FIU

ULC: Center for Academic Success
The University Learning Center is sponsored by the Office of Undergraduate Education and is open to all enrolled F.I.U. students.
Center for Excellence in Writing
Contact the Center for Excellence in Writing to make an appointment. They can help you develop your thesis statement, frame your paper, and more.
FIU Online: e-Learning Tutorials
Find tutorials on using Blackboard, Turnitin, and mobile devices.

Chat with a Librarian

contact us!

We're here to help!

Librarians are here to provide research help to students, faculty, staff, and community members.

	Chat/IM a librarian, Ask Us!
	Email your question. asklib@fiu.edu
	Schedule a research consultation.
	Browse our FAQs.
	Call (305) 348-2454 MMC / (305) 919-5726 BBC
	SMS/TXT to (305) 240-6585
	Tweet to @FIULibraries
	LibGuides: Research & Subject Guides
	Hours for Research Help

FAQs for Library Cards

Step 1: Order Your Card

Online and In-Person students can get their One Card through the FIU One Card Offices.

Step 2: Contact the Library

If you have ordered your card, there may be a temporary code for resource login. Please contact us for that information.

PHONE: You can also call circulation: MMC: (305) 348-2451 BBC: (305) 919-5718
EMAIL: asklib@flu.libanswers.com
ONLINE CHAT: https://libanswers.fiu.edu/
SMS/TXT: (305) 240-6585

What is a Library Card?

Your FIU One Card is your Library Card!

FIU One Card = Library Card

What is my Library Card Number?

The 14-digit number on the back of your FIU One Card is your Library Card Number.

FIU Library Card backside

What is my password for my Library Card?

The default password for your library account is the 2-digit month and 2-digit day of your birth.

For example, if you were born on May 10th, your password would be 0510.

Help??? Troubleshooting for Users
Find help with access, technology, vpn, zoom, cookies, & caches
FIU One Card Office
Access to The FIU One Card Office services is easy and convenient. You can stop by our offices at MMC and BBC, visit us online or load cash on the go at valueports or via the Get app.
FIU Online One Card Application Form
Upon completion of the application, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions to upload your photo and Government-issued ID. The email will also include details regarding identity verification via video chat and distribution of the One Card.

ENROLLED STUDENTS (In-person)

First-time students must attend an Orientation session at their respective campus and be registered for classes. On day two of orientation, students are eligible to pick up their card at the FIU One Card Office.

The student must have a valid Panther ID number in order to receive a FIU One Card. To obtain a card:

The Student will go to the FIU One Card Office at their respective campus. MMC: PG-1 100; BBC: WUC 143.
The Student is not responsible for payment for their first* FIU One Card.
The Student must present a valid government-issued photo ID.
*Duplicate/replacement fee is $15.00 payable by cash, check or credit card at the MMC One Card Office or at the BBC Cashier’s Office.

Student: Fully Online

FIU ONLINE PROGRAM

As part of your enrollment in a Fully Online or Satellite program at FIU, you can receive an FIU One Card using the online application process by following the steps below:

Complete and submit the FIU Online One Card Application Form.
Upon completion of the application, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions to upload your photo and Government-issued ID. The email will also include details regarding identity verification via video chat and distribution of the One Card.

Please note: All communication will be sent to your FIU email address.

Sample of appropriate pictures for submission

FIU Online One Card Application Form
Upon completion of the application, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions to upload your photo and Government-issued ID. The email will also include details regarding identity verification via video chat and distribution of the One Card.

Have a card, but lost/forgot it?

Use the barcode generator to find your 14-digit library card number. You can also call circulation if you don't have the 14-digit number MMC: (305) 348-2451 BBC: (305) 919-5718.

This Barcode Generator will only give you a barcode number if you have already obtained your OneCard from the OneCard Office.

Barcode Generator: Login with your FIU Credentials
This Barcode Generator will only give you a barcode/ library card number if you have already obtained your OneCard from the OneCard Office. Under the barcode, you will find your Library Card Number.

Is there a workaround with VPN?

You can also authenticate with VPN as a workaround. Find more information on accessing FIU’s VPN at https://network.fiu.edu/vpn/.

Trying to use a database and keep getting an error message?

You may need to clear your history and cache. Find directions by browser on our Help Page.

FIU Libraries Information

Enter your keyword(s) below to search the FIU Libraries' Frequently Asked Questions database.

Text the word HOURS to (305) 240-6585 to get the current library hours sent to your phone or check the link below.

Library Hours: Complete Schedule

Check the links below for maps of the Green (MMC) and Hubert (BBC) Libraries plus all FIU campuses.

	Chat/IM a librarian, Ask Us!
	Email your question.
	Schedule a research consultation.
	Browse our FAQs.
	Call (305)348-2454 / 919-5726
	SMS/TXT to (305)240-6585
	Tweet to @FIULibraries

Find It @FIU & Off-Campus Access

FIU Libraries
Click here to search the catalog, connect to off-campus access, find course reserves, schedule group study rooms, research scholarly article databases, chat with a librarian on "Ask Us", & find guides on researching, programs of study, and specific courses.
Off-Campus Access: Open Athens
Many of the databases offered by the FIU Libraries are restricted to currently registered students, staff, and faculty of the University. When connecting to these services from off campus you are required to let the system know you are currently affiliated with FIU.

After accessing the databases and resources, you may see -OR- in your search results, click this button to check for access to the full-text content.

Find it @ FIU / CitationLinker

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Free Speech, Academic Freedom, & Intellectual Freedom