FIU Libraries: Africa & African Diaspora Studies Research Guide: Find: eBooks & Books

Finding Books

How to read our call numbers

Library of Congress Classification Outline
Find list of the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses.
UCLA Library: How to read Call Numbers
What is a call number and how to read them.
Green Library Floorplan

Interlibrary Loan
ILLiad and Interlibrary Loan are available for FIU and SUL faculty, staff, enrolled students, and FIU alumni and corporate public borrowers. Interlibrary Loan will try to obtain books, articles, and other items that are not owned by the FIU University Libraries from other libraries.
Borrow from Other Libraries: ILLIAD Login

Intercampus Loan Information
To submit Intercampus Loan requests, first login to your Library Account and then look up your item. Select "Request" for the item and choose your pick-up location. You will receive an e-mail when the item is ready. Please allow two (2) business days for processing and shipping.
Library Account Login

EBL (Electronic Book Library) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You must login to "Off Campus Access" even when on campus to view this collection, books are downloadable in ePub format; Online database of electronic books that the FIU Libraries now subscribes to; The collection currently consists of over 300 titles, and continues to grow; Subjects currently covered include technology, the sciences, mathematics, and some social sciences.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects; The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by FIU Libraries/FCLA, plus public-domain e-books; Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest; Every word in every book is searchable.
ebrary This link opens in a new window
Collection of online books and documents available to FIU Libraries.
IGI Global eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to an eBook collection covering recent developments in the the areas of technology, business, marketing, human resources, and related disciplines.
WorldCat eBooks This link opens in a new window
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide

ACLS Humanities eBooks (HEB) This link opens in a new window
Collection of approximately 4,000 books in the humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies; list of titles available at: http://www.humanitiesebook.org/the-collection/default.html
Cambridge Books Online : Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 300 eBooks from the field of psychology.
OAPEN eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Elsevier ScienceDirect e-Books This link opens in a new window
Browse-able collection of Elsevier science-related titles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences eBook Collection, Springer This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks from Springer covering the behavioral sciences; Major sub-disciplines include: Personality & Social Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Child & School Psychology, and more.
SpringerLink: eBooks This link opens in a new window
Fulltext access to Springer eBooks covering the sciences, computer engineering, mathematics, and more.
Thieme ElectronicBook Library This link opens in a new window
via FIU Medical Library; An online reference library of books covering the sciences, medicine and alternative medicine.
World Bank: e-Library This link opens in a new window
3400+ full text World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers comprehensively covering the area of social and economic development.

OAPEN eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Google Books
Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
Open Culture eBooks
Download 700 free eBooks to your Kindle, iPad/iPhone, computer, smart phone or ereader. Collection includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, including works by Asimov, Jane Austen, Philip K. Dick, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Neil Gaiman, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Shakespeare, Ernest Hemingway, Virginia Woolf & James Joyce. Also please see our collection of Free Audio Books, where you can download more great books to your computer or mp3 player.
Cambridge's Collection of Free eBooks

eBooks & Books
Collection of individual book and eBook titles and eBook collections available to the FIU Libraries

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration