Skip to Main Content

Data Presentation

This guide provides information about various data visualizations types, design principles, as well as data presentation tools.

Select a Visualization Type

Getting Started
Online Tools

Are you making comparisons, showing connections, highlighting changes, or revealing patterns with your data?

The first step in choosing the best visualization type for your data is determining the purpose of the visualization. Visualization categories or functions can include: Comparisons, Proportions, Relationships, Hierarchy, Location, Distribution, Processes, Flow, Patterns, Range, Time, Textual analysis, etc..

Once you have identified your data category, it is time to think about how best to represent your data.

According to William S. Cleveland and Robert McGill's 1985, "Graphical perception and graphical methods for analyzing scientific data.", some characteristics of data visualization are easier for the human eye to perceive than others.

Easiest	1) position along a common scale
	2) position along a non-aligned scale
	3) length
	4) angle and slope
	5) area
	6) volume, density, and color saturation
Most Difficult	7) color hue

There are many online tools available for selecting a graphic form for your data. Here are a few examples:

The Data Visualisation Catalogue, developed by Severino Ribecca, allows you to search for visualizations by function or view a list sorted by type of chart. - https://datavizcatalogue.com/
Emery's Essentials, developed by Ann K. Emery, provides a list and examples of various charts organized by function - http://annkemery.com/essentials/

Information

Green Library, Modesto A. Maidique Campus

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Hubert Library, Biscayne Bay Campus

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Libraries

Contact

Circulation: 305.348.2451
Reference: 305.348.2454

Circulation: 305.919.5718
Reference: 305.919.5726

© 2018