FIU Libraries: Data Processing & Preparation: Proprietary Methods

Methods

IDL, powered by Harris geospatial solution, is the trusted scientific programming language used across disciplines to extract meaningful visualizations from complex numerical data. With IDL you can interpret your data, expedite discoveries, and deliver powerful applications to market.

Modules

IDL Dataminer Module: IDL Dataminer is an easy-to-use add-on module to IDL that provides the technology you need for accessing, querying and editing information from common databases, including Oracle, Sybase, MySQL and more. IDL Dataminer makes IDL an even more convenient, flexible tool for scientists, engineers and application developers who do not have the time or expertise to write their own database access routines. Yet it is still advanced enough for power users to design their own SQL queries.

Advanced Math & Stats Module: This add-on solution combines advanced data visualization and analysis capabilities with the comprehensive mathematical and statistical routines of the IMSL™ C Numerical Library — a set of pre-written mathematical and statistical algorithms that can be embedded into your program.

ModelBuilder is an application you use to create, edit, and manage models. Models are workflows that string together sequences of geoprocessing tools, feeding the output of one tool into another tool as input. ModelBuilder can also be thought of as a visual programming language for building workflows. Here we are going to focus on the ArcGIS Model Builder as a way to create and save a model, so it becomes a model tool.

There are many GIS/RS proprietary software to process geospatial data.

Learn about some commercial GIS/RS software that doesn't require development skill to process your data.

ESRI
Esri busted onto the geospatial scene in the 1970s. They’ve pulled ahead as being the market leader in commercial GIS software and hasn’t looked back since. The fine-tuned Esri ArcGIS is the most innovative, cutting-edge GIS software in the industry.
Geomedia
Geomedia has been the main rival to ArcGIS for years, even decades. Previously owned by Intergraph, now Hexagon Geospatial Geomedia has a 40 year history in the GIS industry. Government, infrastructure and military groups are embracing Geomedia because of its solution-driven approach. Geomedia is a comprehensive commercial GIS software package because how it provides advanced data management, visualization, analysis and cartographic tools.
Mapinfo
MapInfo Professional has come a long way in terms of proprietary GIS software. It has a clear focus on location intelligence. Locate optimal positions for retail stores, uncover geographic patterns and improve insurance risk with GIS insurance mapping.
GlobalMapper
Global Mapper was originally developed by the USGS. It has evolved into a GIS commercial software product competing with the GIS industry giants. If there was a ’Swiss-army knife’ for GIS software, Global Mapper would be it. This commercial GIS software is flexible enough to satisfy both the beginner and advanced GIS user.
Surfer
Surfer is a powerful contouring, gridding and surface making package. Its versatility lets you create some unique maps in XYZ directions. There’s a short learning curve for this commercial GIS software.
IDRISI
Clark Laboratories IDRISI more specializes in remote sensing than anything else. It has a strong foothold in remote sensing and commercial GIS software. It’s used in colleges and universities from the get-go. IDRISI boasts a 300-set of GIS processing tools. Although primarily oriented towards raster processing, IDRISI has adapted into a commercial GIS software suite.
Autocad Map 3D
AutoCAD isn’t just about drafting. AutoCAD Map 3D bridges the gap between CAD and GIS. For those already using Autodesk, this commercial GIS software gives a familiar interface to manage spatial data and underlying asset information.

IDL Blog Series
IDL Data POint
ArcGIS Model Builder
A quick tour on Model Builder into ArcGIS

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Data Processing & Preparation

Methods

Modules

Information

Libraries

Contact