FIU Libraries: GIS/RS Data Services: Data Carpentry

Resources

What is it?
Curriculum

From astronomy to molecular biology, our increasing capacity to collect data is changing science. It allows us to ask questions that previously could not have been answered, and it changes the impact that science has on society. Although petabytes of data are now available, most scientific disciplines are failing to translate this sea of data into scientific advances. The missing step between data collection and research progress is a lack of training for researchers in crucial skills for effectively managing and analyzing large amounts of data.

Data Carpentry addresses this gap by teaching researchers the fundamental data skills they need to conduct their work.

Data Carpentry has it's focuses on data analysis skills rather than programming skills (Software Carpentry).

Learn more about Data Carpentry in this video below.

SciPy 2014 Lightning Talk - Introducing Data Carpentry

Data Carpentry - Ecology Curriculum
Data Carpentry’s aim is to teach researchers basic concepts, skills, and tools for working with data so that they can get more done in less time, and with less pain. This workshop uses a tabular ecology dataset and teaches data cleaning, management, analysis and visualization.
Data Carpentry - Genomics Curriculum
The focus of this workshop is on working with genomics data and data management and analysis for genomics research. It covers data management and analysis for genomics research including: best practices for organization of bioinformatics projects and data, use of command line utilities, use of command line tools to analyze sequence quality and perform variant calling, and connecting to and using cloud computing.
Data Carpentry - Social Science Curriculum
This workshop teaches data management and analysis for social science research including best practices for data organization in spreadsheets, reproducible data cleaning with OpenRefine, data analysis and visualization in either R or Python and extraction of information from relational databases using SQL. This workshop is designed to be taught over two full days of instruction.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

GIS/RS Data Services

Resources

Information

Libraries

Contact