FIU Libraries: GIS/RS Data Services: Data Analysis

Analysis

There are many types of models, analysis, methods to address a question and extract information from spatial data. In this topic, we are going to divide per type of analysis and give some pieces of information to assist you understand what you can get from each of this analysis. One thing that we should be aware is that most of the times, we use multiples techniques to get the information we need.

It is always a good idea to re-visit your project's question to clarify what are the steps you will have to follow to get the information you need. With this, you would be able to see what is the data you need as an output and it will help you identify the type of analysis you need.

Go over the tabs and explore some concepts, tools and methods of some types of analysis.

Explore more about Data Carpentry to learn basic concepts, skills, and tools for working with data so that they can get more done in less time, and with less pain

Multicriteria Analysis
The multi criteria analysis, applied to GIS, is an analysis that explore and combine multiple variables, evaluate their relationship in order to address a question on the project. If you want to explain why a spatial phenomena happens in a specific place or which variables can explain a specific event, this is one method that may be looked into.
Area of Influence Analysis and Models
These Area of Influence Analysis models are used to define a area of influence of an specific spatial phenomena, e.g, area of influence of a school or service area of a health facility. In this document you can have more information on some of the AOI models.

Surface Analysis
Surface analysis derived from Digital Model of Elevation.
Interpolation.
Mathematical process of inferring values for areas where it was not possible to collect information. There are many methods that can be used according to the type of data and the size of the sample. In this documents you will be able to visualize the basic concepts related to interpolation.

Drainage Network - Hydrology Model
The Hydrology tools are used to model the flow of water across a surface. When modeling the flow of water, you may want to know where the water came from and where it is going. The following topics explain how to use the hydrologic analysis functions to help model the movement of water across a surface, the concepts and key terms regarding drainage systems and surface processes, how the tools can be used to extract hydrologic information from a digital elevation model (DEM), and sample hydrologic analysis applications.

Spatial Correlation
In this document you can find some concepts about spatial statistics of areas, polygons. These articles are relevant to public health, demographics, and economics studies.
Point pattern analysis
Find in this document some concepts and practices for point pattern analysis using spatial statistic, including Kernel Density.

Distance Analysis
With the distance analysis, you can create distance and direction surfaces to compute the least-cost, shortest path from a chosen destination to your source location. Learn some of the functions here.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

GIS/RS Data Services

Analysis

Information

Libraries

Contact