First Thursdays @ the FIU Libraries

October 5, 2023--Let Freedom Read: Exploring Banned Books and Intellectual Freedom in Florida

Presenters: Chris Jimenez, Chair, and FIU Libraries Academic and Intellectual Freedom Committee members.

November 2, 2023--The Library Staff Salary Discussion

Presenters: Kelley Rowan, Chair, Salary Task Force and members, Chris Jimenez, Jennifer Scholl, Adriana Harris, Jamie Rogers, Annia Gonzalez.

Decembere 7, 2023--The Ins and Outs of India Legal Research: Learning How to Find India Primary & Secondary Law.

Presenter: Pushyamitra Veeramachaneni, Assistant Director for Collection Services, FIU Law Library.

February 1, 2024--The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) at FIU: A New Strategic Vision.

Presenter: Katie Coldiron, Outreach Program Manager, Digital Library of the Caribbean (dlOC), FIU Libraries

October 6, 2022--Facilitating a QEP micro-credential

Presenter: Kelley Rowan, Associate Librarian, Digital Collections Center

November 3, 2022--No Lights, No Camera, No Action!: Unfilmed Screenplays of Latin America

Presenter: Gayle Williams, University Librarian, Information & Research Services

December 1, 2022--Opening the doors to language inclusion: initiatives at the FIU Libraries

Presenters: Annia González, Special Collections Librarian, University Librarian

                     Ximena Valdivia, Cataloging and Metadata Librarian

                                Karla Ferrer, Cataloging Library Associate

February 2, 2023--A conversation about scholarly writing

            Presenters: Annia González & Peer Review and Research Committee

March 2, 2023--Gale's Business Resources

             Presenters: Elana Karshmer/ProQuest

April 6, 2023--AI, Higher Ed, and Libraries

             Presenters: Jennifer Fu, Boyuan Guan, Rebecca Bakker, Jamie Rogers, Melissa Del Castillo, Diana Reyes, Levente Juhasz

May 4, 2023--The threat to academic and intellectual freedom

             Presenters: Chris Jimenez/Academic Freedom Committee

October 7, 2021 - Community Data Curation: Oral Histories, Post-Custodial Archiving, & Bridging University and Community in South Florida

Presenters: Katie Coldiron, WPHL Archivist and Project Manager on Community Data Curation, and Jamie Rogers, IT Assistant Director, Digital Collections

February 3, 2022 -  GreenGlass Q&A, GOBI and OLAS

Presenter: Eric Gormley, Monographs Coordinator

March 3, 2022 - A Moveable Book: The History of Pop-ups, Volvelles and Interactive Books

Presenter: Rebecca Bakker

April 7, 2022 - Containing Karens & Kevins: Review of the LibAnswers Ticketing Pilot Project

Presenters: Christopher Jimenez, Web Services Librarian, and Diana Reyes, Serials E-Resources Librarian

May 5, 2022 - SoTL (Scholarship of Teaching and Learning) in Action

Presenter: Dr. Elana Karshmer, Department Head, Information & Research Services, Green Library

June 2, 2022 - Collabolloquim: 4th annual library symposium

Presenters: Rebecca Bakker, Melissa Del Castillo, Ramces Marsili, Gayle Williams

October 1, 2020  - South Florida’s Scary Cinema 2: Old Haunts, New Horrors

Presenter: Eduardo Fojo, Media Cataloger Librarian

November 5, 2020 - The Karoo, The Veld, and the Co-Op: The Farm as Microcosm and Place for Change in Schreiner, Lessing, and Head

Presenter: Elana Karshmer, Head of Information and Research Services (Green Library)

December 3, 2020 - Working with EAST and GreenGlass: New Tools for Collection Development

Presenter: Eric Gormley, Monographs Coordinator

February 4, 2021 - Teamwork in Quarantine: Our presence in the community

Presenters:  Althea Vicki Silvera – Head, Special Collections and University Archivist;  Annia Gonzalez – Special Collections Librarian;  Rhia Rae – Digital Archivist; Rose Nicholson – Records Management Compliance Coordinator & RMLO

April 1, 2021 - Collections as Data

Presenter - Jamie Rogers, IT Assistant Director, Digital Collections

May 6, 2021 - Fun with Genetics: Understanding what 23andMe Can and Can't Tell You

Presenter - Kelley Rowan, Digital Archives Librarian

October 3, 2019  Scholars@FIU: Visualizing the Impact Story of Faculty, Staff and Students

Presenters: L.  Bryan  Cooper,  Associate Dean, Libraries and David Driesbach, Assistant Vice President, Research, Office of Research and Economic Development

November 7, 2019  The Stranger Beside Me – the creepy, freaky, weird world of FIU Libraries Special Collections and University Archives

Presenters: Annia Gonzalez, Special Collections Librarian; Katharine Labuda, University Archives Librarian; Rhia Rae, Digital Archivist and Molly McBride Castro, Digital Humanities Librarian

December 5, 2019  Shedding Light on Local Cultural Heritage: A Professional Development Leave Project

Presenter: Rita Cauce, Head of Cataloging

February 6, 2020  ​FIU Research Data Portal

Presenter: Jill Krefft, Institutional Repository Coordinator

March 5, 2020  FIU Libraries’ Digital Collections in the Classroom

Presenter: Kelley Rowan, Digital Archives Librarian

May 7, 2020 Burning Man Project: Libraries as Art & Libraries as Place in Black Rock City

Presenter: Lauren Christos, Reference Librarian

October 4 - "Spatial History – Using GIS and Open Web Resources to Reconstruct XuanZang’s ‘Great Tang Records of the Western Regions’ on the Silk Route"

Presenter: Zhaohui Jennifer Fu, Head of GIS Center and Digital Collection Center

November 1 - "Academic Libraries Down Under: Experiences in Victoria, Australia"

Presenter: Holly Morganelli, Global Learning Librarian

December 6 - "So, What Are You Reading" - an hour long discussion about the books that we've been reading and recommending (or not)

March 7 - "Confessions of a Volunteer Indexer- the experience and values gained as a volunteer indexer for the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) since 1978"

Presenter: Gayle Williams, Latin American and Caribbean Information Librarian

April 4 - "The Libraries’ contributions to pillars of FIU’s Strategic Plan"

Presenter: Dean Anne Prestamo

May 2 - "South Florida's Scary Cinema"

Presenter: Eduardo Fojo, Media Cataloger Librarian

June 6 - "join the Conversation: Why, How, & Where to Publish Research" Symposium (11 a.m.- 4:15 p.m.)

Presenters: Peer Review and Research Committee (Barbara Sorondo, Katharine Labuda, Elaine Dong, Christopher Jimenez, Stephanie Brenenson, and Gricel Dominguez (chair))

October 5 - "Unique Collections in the Academic Libraries: Acquiring Primary Resources"

Presenters: Annia Gonzalez, Katharine Labuda, Rose Nicholson, Rhia Rae

November 2 - "Using Social Science to Create a Better Survey"

Presenter: Kelley Rowan

February 1 - "Affordable Options: Textbooks, OER's & the Library"

Presenter: Valerie Boulos

March 1 - "NFC Technology in the Library"

Presenter: Christopher Jimenez

April 5 - "Supporting Research, Public Engagement, and Learning through the Use of the Archives in Digital Humanities"

Presenter: Jamie Rogers

May 3 - "Practical PowerPoint: How to create better, simpler, more accessible PowerPoint Presentations"

Presenter: Denisse Solis

October 6 - Postponed due to un-Hurricane Matthew and rescheduled for Tues., Nov. 1 at Noon - 12:55 p.m.

November 1 - "TRAVELPALOOZA"

Presenters: The Travel Committee: Eduardo Fojo, April Lafferty, Annia Gonzalez, Carlos Fernandez, and Melissa Del Castillo, and Guests: Marina Garcia, and Douglas Hasty.

December 1 - ETDs @ FIU

Presenters: Research and Scholarship Strategies Group: Jill Krefft, Jamie Rogers, Kelley Rowan, Rebecca Bakker, Stephanie Brenenson, and Brandie Thomas of the University Graduate School.

February 2 - Professional Development Leave at the FIU Libraries: A Benefit for Keeping Burnout at Bay!

Presenter: Gayle Williams

April 6 - "Digital Scholar Studio -- Interaction with Faculty and Students" included a tour following the presentation.

Presenters: Martin Kass, Rebecca Bakker, and Jennifer Fu

May 3 - "ORCID @ FIU"

Presenter: Stephanie Brenenson

June 1 - “Growing Your Research From Idea to Publication: A Case Study.”

Presenter: Barbara Sorondo

December 5 - "Discovery and Born-Digital Archiving: Open Source Preservation and Access"

Presenters: Bryan Cooper and Margarita Perez

April 7 -  "How to Turn a Work Project into a Presentation or Publication."

Presenters: Peer Review and Research Committee including Adis Beesting, Douglas Hasty, Sarah Hammill, Tom Moore, Vicky Toranzo, and Stephanie Brenenson

May 5 - "Introduction to Macro Express"

Presenter: Eduardo Fojo

June 2 - "First Thursday with a Twist"

Presenters: Denisse Solis, Enrique Caboverde, and Jordan Jones

October 9 - "Copyright"

Presenter: Thomson "Tom" Moore

November 6 - "Next Generation ILS"

Presenter: Anne Prestamo

February 5 - "How to Choose a Focus for Your Research and/or Career"

Presenters: Peer Review and Research Committee

April 2 - "What's Special about Special Collections?"

Presenter: Vicki Silvera

May 7 - "Introduction to SPSS" workshop in GL280

Presenter: Barbara Sorondo

May 1 - "Spatially enabled Smart Campus and Volunteered Geographic Information (VGI) for Community Based Learning"

Presenter: Jennifer Fu

November 8 - "IR Services and All That"

Presenter: Jill Krefft

January 3 - "The Coral Gables Virtual History Project"

Presenters: Jennifer Fu, Jamie Rogers, and Boyuan Guan

June 6 - "Everglades Digital Library, Discovery System and Data Visualization"

Presenters: Jamie Rogers, Jennifer Fu, and Bryan Cooper

FALL 2011

September - Gayle Williams on Latin American and Caribbean Studies

October - George Pearson on Humanities

December - Bryan Cooper on “The Elephant in the Library: the Hathi Trust, Google and Everglades Discovery"

December - Lauren Christos on 19th Century Masterfile ??

SPRING 2012

January - Sarah Hammill on ?

February - Patricia Pereira-Pujol on Science

March - Patricia Pereira-Pujol on Engineering

April - Stephanie Brenenson and Dean Laura Probst on Scholarly Communication in Flux

May - Marissa Ball on Women's Studies ??

FALL 2010

The 1st First Thursday, December 2010 - Reference and Government Documents departments

SPRING 2011

January - Scott Kass on Hospitality and Tourism

February - Lori Driver on Government Documents

April - Adis Beesting on Education and Psychology

June ?- Susan Weiss on South Florida Resources

July - Stephanie Brenenson on Architecture and Religious Studies

August - Jamie Rogers on Digital Collections