Skip to Main Content

Transfer Day: A Centennial of the Virgin Islands of the United States

A guide to resources on the United States Virgin Islands to commemorate the centennial of transfer of jurisdiction from Denmark to the United States of America

Find Primary Sources in FIU Databases

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers; More than 140 titles from 22 islands; Covers topics on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.
dLOC (Digital Library of the Caribbean) This link opens in a new window
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean established by FIU, UVI, and UF; dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Latin American Newspapers: World Newspaper Archive (includes Series 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers includes approximately 35 fully searchable newspapers printed throughout this region in the 19th and 20th centuries; via a partnership between the Center for Research Libraries community and Readex

Information

Green Library, Modesto A. Maidique Campus

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Hubert Library, Biscayne Bay Campus

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Libraries

Contact

Circulation: 305-348-2451
Reference: 305-348-2454

Circulation: 305-919-5718
Reference: 305-919-5726

©