FIU Libraries: Transfer Day: A Centennial of the Virgin Islands of the United States: FIU Books on the US Virgin Islands

Books on the US Virgin Islands

Go to FIU Libraries page, http://library.fiu.edu/

On the library homepage, click on the "Catalog" tab. This takes you to the online catalog to search for books and other materials that we own.

You can do keyword searches with 'Anywhere' and will probably get some titles. However, you may only get books that include your search phrase.

To get fuller results for your topic, change 'Anywhere' to 'Subject.' The subject heading for the US Virgin Islands is United States Virgin Islands.

The titles that follow came from using this subject heading with some other basic subdivisions. The lists below focus on print books. Run some of the searches below to find other print and electronically available titles:

United States Virgin Islands

Antiquities

Description and travel

Economic conditions

History

Pictorial works

Politics and government

Social conditions

Social life and customs

The following subject headings use United States Virgin Islands as well (order you type them in doesn't really matter)

Architecture

Blacks

Jews

Women

Plantation and Town: Historic Architecture of the United States Virgin Islands: A Guide by Gosner, Pamela W.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. NA815 .V5 G6
ISBN: 9780877160267
Publication Date: 1971
Book does not circulate.
The Three Quarters of the Town of Charlotte Amalie: A Study of Architectural Details and Forms That Have Endured from 1837. by Woods, Edith deJongh.
Call Number: Green Library NA815 .V5 W66 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Three Towns: Conservation and Renewal of Charlotte Amalia, Christiansted, and Frederiksted of the U.S. Virgin Islands. by Bredsdorff, Peter et al.
Call Number: Green Library HT178 .V52 C57 1980
Publication Date: 1980
Originally published 1965.
Victorian Frederiksted: Details of 19th Century Caribbean Architecture of Frederiksted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands. by Brown, Susan.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. NA815 .V5 B7 1981
Publication Date: 1981

A Bibliography of Articles on the Danish West Indies and the United States Virgin Islands in the New York Times: 1867-1975 by Highfield, Arnold R.
Call Number: Green Library Z1561 .V8 H54
ISBN: 0813006112
Publication Date: 1978
A Guide to Sources for the History of the Danish West Indies (U. S. Virgin Islands): 1671-1917. by Gøbel, Erik.
Call Number: Green Library Ref. Z1561 .V8 G63 2002
ISBN: 9788778387219
Publication Date: 2002
Book does not circulate.
Virgin Islands Government Documents: A Quarterly Checklist. by Virgin Islands. Bureau of Libraries, Museums, and Archaeological Services.
Call Number: Green Library Int. Doc. Z1561 .V8 V59
Publication Date: 1978-1984
Began publication in 1977; FIU Libraries holdings start in 1978.

Black Women/White Men: The Sexual Exploitation of Female Slaves in the Danish West Indies. by Donoghue, Eddie.
Call Number: Green Library HT1119 .V6 D66 2002
ISBN: 0865439583
Publication Date: 2002
Creole Transformation from Slavery to Freedom: Historical Archaeology of the East End Community, St. John, Virgin Islands. by Armstrong, Douglas V.
Call Number: Green Library F2098.A76 2003
ISBN: 0813025842
Publication Date: 2003
Cultural Adaptation and Resistance on St. John: Three Centuries of Afro-Caribbean Life. by Olwig, Karen F.
Call Number: Green Library HT1071.O43 1985
ISBN: 0813008182
Publication Date: 1985
Eyewitness Accounts of Slavery in the Danish West Indies: Also Graphic Tales of Other Slave Happenings on Ships and Plantations. by Paiewonsky, Isidor.
Call Number: Green Library HT1119 .V6 P35 1987
Publication Date: 1987
The Kamina Folk: Slavery and Slave Life in the Danish West Indies. by Tyson, George F., and Arnold R. Highfield (Editors).
Call Number: Green Library HT1119 .V6 K35 1994
ISBN: 9781886007000
Publication Date: 1994
Queen of the Virgins: Pageantry and Black Womanhood in the Caribbean. by Oliver, M. Cynthia.
Call Number: Green Library HQ1220.V63O45 2009
ISBN: 9781604732429
Publication Date: 2009
Saint Thomas Carnival. by Virgin Islands Carnival Commission.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. Vertical Files GT4229.U55S25
Publication Date: 2011.
Book does not circulate.
Through the Sands of Time: A History of the Jewish Community of St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. by Cohen, Judith M.
Call Number: Green Library F2105.C64 2004
ISBN: 1584653418
Publication Date: 2003
The Virgin Islands and Their People. by Jarvis, J. Antonio.
Call Number: Green Library F2136 .J37 1971
Publication Date: 1971
Originally published in 1944.

Captured in Time, 1919 : St. Thomas, St. John, St. Croix: Architect Tyge Hvass Photographs the Former Danish West Indies. by Hvass, Tyge.
Call Number: Green Library F2136.2 .C36 1987
Publication Date: 1987
Escape to the Tropics. by Holdridge, Desmond.
Call Number: Green Library F2136 .H65 1937
Publication Date: 1937
Inside American Paradise. by Brown, June W.
Call Number: Green Library F2105 .B76 1991
ISBN: 0918752140
Publication Date: 1991
Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. by Reck, Daisy
Call Number: Green Library F1965 .R43
Publication Date: 1939
The Virgins: Magic Islands. by Harman, Jeanne Perkins.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. F2136 .H32
Publication Date: 1961
Book does not circulate.
A Wayfarer in the West Indies. by Aspinall, Algernon Edward.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. F2131 .A854 1927
Publication Date: 1927
Book does not circulate.

America's Virgin Islands: A History of Human Rights and Wrongs. by Boyer, William W.
Call Number: Green Library F2136.5 .B69 2010
ISBN: 1594606870
Publication Date: 2010
Archaeological Reconnaissance of the Island of St. John, United States Virgin Islands. by Sleight, Frederick W.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. E77.8 .W5 no.3
Publication Date: 1962
Book does not circulate.
Brief History of the Virgin Islands. by Jarvis, J. Antonio.
Call Number: Green Library F2136 .J36 1938a
Publication Date: 1938
Crucian Recollections: From the Compelling Past of a Storied Island. by Highfield, Arnold R.
Call Number: Green Library F2136.5 .H54 2014
ISBN: 069220055X
Publication Date: 2014
The Danish Heritage of the U.S. Virgin Islands. by Lawaetz, Eva.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. F2136.5 .L3813
Publication Date: 1977
Book does not circulate.
The Danish Virgin Islands: A Socio-Historical Analysis of the Emancipation of 1848 and the Labor Revolt of 1878. by Marsh, Clifton E.
Call Number: Green Library HD5344.3 .Z9 S256 1985
Publication Date: 1985
History of the Virgin Islands of the United States. by Dookhan, Isaac.
Call Number: Gren Library
ISBN: 9789768125057
Publication Date: 1994
Reprint of the 1974 edition.
The Krum Bay site: A Preceramic Site on St. Thomas, United States Virgin Islands. by Bullen, Ripley P., and Frederick W. Sleight.
Call Number: Green Library Spec. Coll. E77.8 .W5 no.5
Publication Date: 1963
Book does not circulate
St. Croix under Seven Flags: Being a "Cruzan" Cavalcade of the Island of St. Croix in the Virgins: A History of Many Sorts of Famous Men, Infamous Events, Pirates and Planters, West Indian Folk and Their Lore. Recounting Five Centuries of Lively Events on by Lewisohn, Florence.
Call Number: Green Library F2096 .L43
Publication Date: 1970
St. John Backtime: Eyewitness Accounts from 1718 to 1956. by Low, Ruth Hull, and Rafael Valls.
Call Number: Green Library F2098 .S78 1985
Publication Date: 1985

Britain and the United States in the Caribbean: A Comparative Study in Methods of Development. by Proudfoot, Mary Macdonald.
Call Number: Hubert Library JL602 .P76 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Originally published 1954.
Civil Liberties in the U.S. Virgin Islands: 1917-1949. by Boyer, William W.
Call Number: Green Library KGZ278 .B69 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Memoirs of a Governor: A Man for the People. by Paiewonsky, Ralph M.
Call Number: Green Library F2136.73 .P35 A3 1990
ISBN: 0814766137
Publication Date: 1990
Rape of the American Virgins. by O'Neill, Edward A.
Call Number: Hubert Library HC157 .V6 O5
Publication Date: 1972
Virgin Islands: America's Caribbean Outpost: the Evolution of Self Government. by Bough, James A., and Roy C. Macridis (Editors).
Call Number: Green Library KGZ268 .V57 1970
Publication Date: 1970
The Virgin Islands: From Naval Base to New Deal. by Evans, Luther Harris.
Call Number: Green Library JL1162 .E8 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Reprint of the 1945 edition.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Transfer Day: A Centennial of the Virgin Islands of the United States

Latin American & Caribbean Information Services Librarian

Books on the US Virgin Islands

Information

Libraries

Contact