Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Data Management

Learn how to manage your research data throughout the data lifecycle: including data management plans, data organization, file formats, as well as data sharing/re-use.

Publication and Deposit

Why should you deposit your research data in a repository?

 

  • To fulfill funder requirements: The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-110 describes the administrative requirements for grants and proposals awarded to institutions of higher education, hospitals and other non-profit organizations. In 1999, Circular A-110 was revised to include a data sharing component under the provision of the Freedom of Information Act which requires grantees to provide access to research data funded by the federal government in a timely manner. See "Public Access Policies"

 

  • To fulfill journal and society data archiving requirements. There has also been an increase in Journals and Publishers requiring public access to research data related to articles published. See the "Journal Policies" tab in this section for more information.

 

  • Research has shown that sharing research data is associated with increased citation rates. An article published in PLOS analyzed citation rates of publicly available data and found there was a 69% increase in data citations for those data. (Piwowar, 2007)

 

This section provides you with information to assist you in choosing a repository for your data to meet funder requirements, publisher requirements, or for your own project goals.

There are several resources that can assist you in finding discipline specific data repositories for archiving your research outcomes. These include:

 

re3data.org  (Registry of Research Data Repositories) 

re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.

 

Disciplinary Repositories Listing

This is a list of OA disciplinary repositories (also called central or subject repositories). Unless otherwise noted, they accept relevant deposits regardless of the author's institutional affiliation.

 

 

 

List of Federal Agency Repositories (CHORUS)

The table below list federal agency repositories. It is adapted from this table compiled by CHORUS. If your funding agency is not listed here, you will need to check with the agency of the repository listed for further information regarding deposit.

 

Agency  Repository/Portal and Note
Department of Defense (DOD) DOD/DTIC 
Department of Education (ED) ERIC 
Department of Energy (DOE) PAGES 
Department of Transportation (DOT) National Transportation Library (NTL) 
DOC - National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST/DOC) NIST/PMC 
DOC - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA/DOC) NOAA Institutional Repository 
DOI - US Geological Survey (USGS/DOI) USGS 
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) NASA PubSpace 
National Science Foundation (NSF) NSF-PAR 
Smithsonian Institute (SI) Smithsonian Research Online 
US Agency for International Development  (USAID) DEC 
US Department of Agriculture (USDA) PubAg 
US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) PMC 
US DHHS - Administration for Community Living (ACL/DHHS) PMC 
US DHHS - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ/DHHS) PMC 
US DHHS - Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR/DHHS) PMC 
US DHHS - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC/DHHS) CDC Stacks 
US DHHS - Food and Drug Administration (FDA/DHHS) PMC 
US DHHS - National Institutes of Health (NIH/DHHS) PMC 

Article and Data Sharing Requirements by Federal Agency (SPARC)

http://researchsharing.sparcopen.org/

If you're looking to publish your research, journals will often require you to make your research data accessible. In most cases, they will clearly outline their data policy and recommend certain repositories. See a list of select publishers and their recommended data repositories. 

 

Journal Open Data Policies

This is a list of journals with data-sharing mandates for their published articles. http://oad.simmons.edu/oadwiki/Journal_open-data_policies

 

Nature

"These datasets must be made available to editors and referees at the time of submission, and must be shared with the scientific community as a condition of publication."

Data Policy: http://www.nature.com/sdata/policies/data-policies

Recommended data repositories: http://www.nature.com/sdata/policies/repositories

 

PLOS

"PLOS journals require authors to make all data underlying the findings described in their manuscript fully available without restriction, with rare exception."

Data Policy: http://journals.plos.org/plosone/s/data-availability

Recommended data repositories:  http://journals.plos.org/plosone/s/data-availability#loc-recommended-repositories

 

Springer Nature

"..we are introducing a set of standardised research data policies that can be easily adopted, and are developing supporting tools and services"

Data Policy:  http://www.springernature.com/gp/group/data-policy/

Recommended data repositories: http://www.springernature.com/gp/group/data-policy/repositories

 

FIU provides faculty and students the opportunity to archive and share their research data via the FIU Research Data Portal (RDP).

The FIU Research Data Portal serves as an inter-disciplinary data archive to support access and reuse of research data produced at FIU.

Funded by a student technology fee grant, the Research Data Portal is built on the Harvard Dataverse open source web application to help faculty and students share, preserve, cite, explore and analyze research data.

The mission of the Research Data Portal is to:

  1. Provide an online centralized digital repository collection for enhanced discovery of institutional and unique research data across disciplines;
  2. Archive at risk data essential to our student and faculty research in environmental sciences, Everglades research and climate change ensuring long term access;
  3. Provide faculty and students data archiving services that enable PIs, researchers, and students the ability to appropriately manage, share, and preserve their research data in line with funder and publisher requirements.

Search the Collection or Submit Your Data rdm.fiu.edu