Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Scholarship - Online Tools & Resources

Digital Humanities Literacy Guidebook

https://cmu-lib.github.io/dhlg/

A great "getting started" resource from Carnegie Mellon University, the DH Literacy Guidebook decodes the many facets of DH for the absolute beginner.


DH Toychest

http://dhresourcesforprojectbuilding.pbworks.com/w/page/69244243/FrontPage

A wiki curated by Alan Liu, English Professor at UC Santa Barbara, containing a multitude of helpful DH tools, tutorials, and examples.


TAPoR 3

http://tapor.ca/home

TAPoR (Text Analysis Portal for Research) is a resource for text analysis tools, but also includes curated lists of digital humanities tools relevant beyond the text analysis realm.


Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media

https://rrchnm.org/what-we-do/

The Roy Rosenzweig Center is at the forefront of digital humanities research, creating both tools and projects in DH.


UCLA’s Digital Art Historian’s Toolkit

http://program.dh.ucla.edu/getty/index.php/the-digital-art-historians-toolkit/

"A snapshot of tools that could be useful to art historians specifically. We’ve focused here on free, off-the-shelf tools that don’t require programming knowledge and might be particularly interesting to people who work with a lot of images."

HathiTrust Research Center Analytics

https://analytics.hathitrust.org/

"Supports large-scale computational analysis of the works in the HathiTrust Digital Library to facilitate non-profit and educational research."

  • "HTRC Algorithms: a set of tools for assembling collections of digitized text from the HathiTrust corpus and performing text analysis on them. Including copyrighted items for ALL USERS."
  • "Extracted Features Dataset: dataset allowing non-consumptive analysis on specific features extracted from the full text of the HathiTrust corpus. Including copyrighted items for ALL USERS."
  • "HathiTrust+Bookworm: a tool for visualizing and analyzing word usage trends in the HathiTrust corpus. Including copyrighted items for ALL USERS."
  • "HTRC Data Capsule: a secure computing environment for researcher-driven text analysis on the HathiTrust corpus. All users may access public domain items. Access to copyrighted items is available ONLY to member-affiliated researchers."

TAPoR 3

http://tapor.ca/home

"TAPoR is a gateway to the tools used in sophisticated text analysis and retrieval."


Orange Text Mining

https://orange.biolab.si/toolbox/

"Open source machine learning and data visualization for novice and expert. Interactive data analysis workflows with a large toolbox."


Google Books - Ngram Viewer

https://books.google.com/ngrams

A tool to graph the usage of terms/phrases over a set period of time.


Voyant

http://voyant-tools.org/

"Voyant Tools is a web-based reading and analysis environment for digital texts."


Lexos

https://wheatoncollege.edu/academics/special-projects-initiatives/lexomics/lexos-installers/

Lexos is a text analysis tool out of Wheaton College that offers both web-app and local installation options.


R and R Studio

https://www.r-project.org/about.html

"R is a language and environment for statistical computing and graphics."

https://www.rstudio.com/


Python

https://www.python.org/

Python is a programming language, applicable to a number of development environments.


AntConc

http://www.laurenceanthony.net/software/antconc/

A freeware corpus analysis toolkit for concordancing and text analysis.


Juxta

http://www.juxtasoftware.org/

A desktop software that allows users to compare and collate variants of the same text.

Omeka

http://omeka.org/ & http://omeka.net/

"Omeka is a free, flexible, and open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions."


Scalar

http://scalar.usc.edu/scalar/

"Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required."


Story Maps

https://storymaps.arcgis.com/en/

"Esri Story Maps let you combine authoritative maps with narrative text, images, and multimedia content. They make it easy to harness the power of maps and geography to tell your story."


Murkutu

https://mukurtu.org/

Murkutu is a content management system that allows people build archives and to share information in a culturally relevant way.


Neatline

http://neatline.org/

"Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines. As a suite of add-on tools for Omeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation."


Northwestern University Knight Lab

http://knightlab.northwestern.edu/

"Northwestern University Knight Lab is a community of designers, developers, students, and educators working on experiments designed to push journalism into new spaces. The Lab provides an open, collaborative environment for interdisciplinary exploration and conversation, where students and professionals learn together and from one another..." 


JuxtaposeJS

https://juxtapose.knightlab.com/

"JuxtaposeJS helps storytellers compare two pieces of similar media, including photos, and GIFs. It’s ideal for highlighting then/now stories that explain slow changes over time (growth of a city skyline, regrowth of a forest, etc.) or before/after stories that show the impact of single dramatic events (natural disasters, protests, wars, etc.)."


TimelineJS

https://timeline.knightlab.com/

"TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. Beginners can create a timeline using nothing more than a Google spreadsheet"


StoryMapJS

https://storymap.knightlab.com/

"StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It is a new tool, yet stable in our development environment, and it has a friendly authoring tool."


SoundCiteJS

https://soundcite.knightlab.com/

"SoundCite is a simple-to-use tool that lets you add inline audio to your story. The audio is not isolated; it plays right under the text you choose."

Neatline

http://neatline.org/

"Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines. As a suite of add-on tools forOmeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation."


Northwestern University Knight Lab

StoryMapJS

https://storymap.knightlab.com/

"StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It is a new tool, yet stable in our development environment, and it has a friendly authoring tool."


Story Maps

https://storymaps.arcgis.com/en/

"Esri Story Maps let you combine authoritative maps with narrative text, images, and multimedia content. They make it easy to harness the power of maps and geography to tell your story."


Tilegrams

https://pitchinteractiveinc.github.io/tilegrams/

An online tool that allows you to create tiled cartograms.

​Northwestern University Knight Lab

TimelineJS

https://timeline.knightlab.com/

"TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. Beginners can create a timeline using nothing more than a Google spreadsheet"


myHistro

http://www.myhistro.com/

"Using myHistro, you can combine maps and timelines seamlessly into one great presentation, convert any public timeline into a personal pdf file, or export it into Google Earth format for offline storage. All completed timelines can be embedded into your blog and websites for maximum exposure."

Hypothes.is

https://web.hypothes.is/

An open and intuitive annotation software that runs through a Chrome browser extension. "Use Hypothesis right now to hold discussions, read socially, organize your research, and take personal notes."


Tropy

https://tropy.org/

Designed for researchers working in archives, Tropy helps users organize and annotate photos of archival resources.


Recogito

https://recogito.pelagios.org/

Annotate documents and photographs with a simple-to-use web-app.


Annotation Studio

https://www.annotationstudio.org/

A suite of collaborative web-based annotation tools from MIT HyperStudio.


Neatline

http://neatline.org/

A suite of add-on tools for Omeka, Neatline offers image and map annotation capabilities.


Scalar

http://scalar.usc.edu/scalar/

Primarily a scholarly publishing software, Scalar also allows users to annotate video, images, source code, audio, and text with built-in annotation tools.

Scripto

http://scripto.org/

"Scripto is an open-source tool that permits registered users to view digital files and transcribe them with an easy-to-use toolbar, rendering that text searchable. The tool includes a versioning history and editorial controls to make public contributions more manageable, and supports the transcription of a wide range of file types (both images and documents)."


oTranscribe

https://otranscribe.com/

Free web-based audio transcription interface that offers an audio file player together with a word processing interface.

Northwestern University Knight Lab

SoundCiteJS

https://soundcite.knightlab.com/

"SoundCite is a simple-to-use tool that lets you add inline audio to your story. The audio is not isolated; it plays right under the text you choose."


Oral History Metadata Synchronizer

http://www.oralhistoryonline.org/

A web-based tool that improves to access to oral history collections. OHMS allows users link audio transcripts or indexes to time stamps within audio recordings.


oTranscribe

https://otranscribe.com/

Free web-based audio transcription interface that offers an audio file player together with a word processing interface.

Easel.ly

http://www.easel.ly/

"Easel.ly is a website that features thousands of free infographic templates and design objects which users can customize to create and share their visual ideas online. Using the site is as easy as dragging and dropping design elements, and users can either choose a template from our extensive library, or they can upload their own background image and start from scratch."


Infogr.am

https://infogr.am/

Free basic account with optional fee-based infographic service


Piktochart

https://piktochart.com/

An editor created for your convenience. "Infographics have been riding the waves of the Internet trend for the past years, and it’s not slowing down. Holding its hand is Piktochart, and holding your hand is our easy-to-use editor, created just for you. From background colors and images to inserting texts and banners, the Piktochart editor will empower you to do it within seconds."


Canva

https://www.canva.com/create/infographics/

"Canva’s infographic maker includes hundreds of free design elements, allowing you to experiment with data visualization like a pro."