Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Health Sciences & Medical Dictionaries @ FIU
-
American Heritage Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2015
A comprehensive reference of recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
-
-
Collins Dictionary of MedicinePublication Date: 2004
Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.
-
Concise Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2015
Contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science. Entries are accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams.
-
A Dictionary of EpidemiologyPublication Date: 2008
Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association (IEA), includes explanations and comments on both core epidemiologic terms and on other scientific terms relevant to all professionals in clinical medicine and public health, as well as to professionals in the other health, life, and social sciences.
-
-
Dictionary of Medical TermsPublication Date: 2013
A well-known reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions.
-
Dictionary of NursingPublication Date: 2014
Includes more than 10,200 clear and concise entries. Incorporates new material on the major developments of the last few years, including public health medicine, genetics and organ transplantation.
-
-
A Dictionary of Public HealthPublication Date: 2006
Alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
-
Dictionary of Social Work and Social CarePublication Date: 2013
Provides A-Z definitions of terms from the broad field of social care. Accessible coverage of social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education.
-
Dorland's Illustrated Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2011
Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.
-
-
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk DictionaryPublication Date: 2006
Contains over 59,000 entries covering today's most widely used health care terms, abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers.
-
-
-
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and MedicinePublication Date: 2007
Entries include succinct definitions, and where appropriate, fuller explanations of terms with one or more sports-related examples. Many new terms have been added to reflect the growth in sports nutrition and the application of sports science and medicine of new technologies, such as genetic engineering and tissue engineering.
-
-
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2005
Reference for health care clinicians and students, that takes account of the integration of alternative and complementary approaches into standard western medical care, defining terms relating to herbal remedies and traditional cures from other cultures.
-
Webster's New World™ Medical DictionaryPublication Date: 2008
Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.
FDLP Library
