FIU Libraries: Health Informatics & Analytics: Best Practices

Resources to Know

ClinicalKey provides medical books, journals, practice guidelines, patient education information, drug information, multimedia materials, and more. The documents included in this resource correspond to nearly all levels of the evidence pyramid. You can conduct a simple search in ClinicalKey, then use the filters located at the left to limit the results to the level you want.

Search phrase needed? No.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
via FIU Medical Library; Provides medical books, journals, practice guidelines, patient education information, drug information, multimedia materials, and CME resources.

The Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (JBI EBP) Collection includes systematic reviews, evidence summaries, consumer information, and more, corresponding to most levels of the evidence pyramid. You can conduct simple searches in JBI EBP, then use the filters located at the left to limit the results to the level you want.

Search phrase needed? No.

Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (JBI EBP) This link opens in a new window
Collection of evidence-based practice resources to help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. Includes systematic reviews, evidence summaries, consumer information, and much more in over 20 subject areas in the health sciences.

MEDLINE is the premier medical database, with over 26 million biomedical citations. PubMed is one of several search interfaces for MEDLINE. You can choose the search interface you prefer.

CINAHL is the premier nursing database, with over 3,000 journals in the nursing and allied health fields.

MEDLINE and CINAHL include documents corresponding to all levels of the evidence pyramid except clinical reference texts. Conduct a Boolean search in these databases, then use the filters/limits to narrow the results to the level you want.

Search phrase needed? Yes.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of leading nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive database for nursing and allied health research offering full-text access to the most frequently cited journals.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) [1950 - present] This link opens in a new window
International scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
MEDLINE (Ovid) [1950 - present] This link opens in a new window
via FIU Medical Library ; International scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Also includes OLDMEDLINE, National Library of Medicine's online database of approximately 1,700,000 citations to articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1948 through 1965.
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable NLM database covering biomedicine and life sciences topics vital to biomedical practitioners, educators, and researchers, such as bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences. You'll find references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters; Coverage beings 1950.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes 5,160+ international scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences.

Both of these databases have help guides you can refer to if you need help using them.

CINAHL Guide | Guía de CINAHL
by Joana Fernandez Last Updated Nov 27, 2024 1559 views this year
MEDLINE Guide
by Joana Fernandez Last Updated Nov 27, 2024 736 views this year
PubMed Guide | Guía de PubMed
by Joana Fernandez Last Updated Aug 9, 2024 67636 views this year

DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, created by and for health care professionals. It contains documents pertaining to the "evidence summaries" level of the evidence pyramid. You can conduct simple searches in DynaMed Plus.

Search phrase needed? No.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
via the FIU Medical Library ; A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'; With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed Plus systematically identifies, selects, evaluates, interprets and summarizes new evidence from more than 500 medical journals to ensure clinicians have the information they need to make best-informed patient care decisions.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which corresponds to the highest level of the evidence pyramid.

You can conduct a simple search in the Cochrane Library, then use the filters located at the left to limit the results to the level you want.

Search phrase needed? No.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Provides up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

This database has a help guide you can refer to if you need help using it.

Cochrane Library Guide
by Joana Fernandez Last Updated Nov 27, 2024 820 views this year

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
*Find reference materials on conducting research.
*Find information on how to design and conduct a research project.
*Learn how to conduct a literature review.
*Read case studies from researchers.
*Find e-books in qualitative methods.
*Find downloadable datasets to practice quantitative statistical and analytical methods.
*View streaming video collection dedicated to methods.
Tools include a project planner, methods map, which stats test to help determine which statistical method to apply, 2,000+ qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods case studies, 500+ datasets-indexed by method and data type, streaming video collections, and more.
Includes diversified types of research materials such as reference works, journal articles, datasets, e-books, and videos by leading academics. It has the largest e-book collection in qualitative methods. The resources cover every aspect of research skills training to help researchers at all levels through the steps of the research process, from developing a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis.

ECRI Guidelines

https://guidelines.ecri.org/
ECRI's mission is to protect patients from unsafe and ineffective medical technologies and practices. Register for free access to the guidelines.

PubMed via FIU
more...less...
PubMed via the FIU link, which will allow you to download articles from the FIU Libraries directly from PubMed (requires you to log in to the FIU Libraries if you are not on campus).
PubMed Mobile
A simplified version of the PubMed interface designed for mobile devices.

PubMed does not require you to log in. However, you have access to many of the articles included in PubMed through the FIU libraries. To get the full text if you are not on campus, you must log in to
from the library homepage using your FIU email account or library account information. Note: you may need to refresh your browser after logging in.

Once you have logged in, click on the
- OR - find it icon small
buttons in your search results to check for access to the full-text material through the FIU Libraries.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Health Informatics & Analytics

Learn more about PubMed!

Resources to Know

ECRI Guidelines

Access PubMed Here

Information

Libraries

Contact