FIU Libraries: Finding Research Resources: News & Newspapers

Newspaper Info

News Sources and Newspapers: Predominately covering the latest events and trends, newspapers contain very up-to-date information. Newspapers report both information that is factual in nature and also share opinions. Generally, however, they will not take a “big picture” approach or contain information about larger trends.

Miami Herald 1911 - present This link opens in a new window
New York Times [1980 - present] This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Google News Search & Archive

Newspapers
Newspapers with Descriptions

Access World News : Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1690- Present; Local, regional, national and international news; Features most major U.S. news sources plus many hard-to-find local and regional titles; 139 countries on six continents are covered.
America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from familiar magazines, such as Fortune, Entertainment Weekly, Time, U.S. News & World Report, Sports Illustrated, etc.; Covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, science and technology.
Florida Newspaper & Journals Database This link opens in a new window
Full Text journals and newspapers with a focus on the State of Florida
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Cross-search all Gale newspaper archives using a single interface; search includes: Economist, Financial Times, Liberty Magazine, Sunday Times, Times, Times Literary Supplement
NewspaperCat : Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest Newspaper titles: The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post

African American Newspapers [1827-1998] This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 statesincluding many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses; Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People; It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.
Florida Digital Newspaper Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 1,000,000 pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
Latin American Newspapers: World Newspaper Archive (includes Series 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers includes approximately 35 fully searchable newspapers printed throughout this region in the 19th and 20th centuries; via a partnership between the Center for Research Libraries community and Readex
WiseNews This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Click on the "IP Access" link (just above the login box) to gain access to the content; One-stop access to Greater China news and information for research and study.

Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
News archive search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives; In addition to helping you search, news archive search can automatically create timelines which show selected results from relevant time periods.

National Crime Victimization Survey (victim survey data)
Bureau of Justice Statistics's National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)- reported and unreported crime from the victim's perspective.
Blogspot Blog Search
Search the world's best blogs on this blogspot blog search engine that helps you exactly find blogs that you are looking for on blogpsot
Mashable
If you haven’t heard of “The Social Media Guide,” you just might be living under an old Commodore 64. Updated constantly, and nearly always entertaining, Mashable takes the worlds of Twitter, Facebook, entertainment, news, and everything else techies are talking about and mashes it.
Science Daily
Your source for the latest research news.

Chronicle of Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Week
Weekly news on American education issues with searchable archives.
Mind/Shift
Technology is revolutionizing the world of education—replacing familiar classroom tools and changing the way we learn. MindShift explores the future of learning in all its dimensions—covering cultural and technology trends, groundbreaking research, education policy and more

Dice.com
Tech job listings.
FBI News Blog
The official blog of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. It provides up-to-date snippets of current FBI investigations without the wordiness of FBI press releases. The blog is written in a “just-the-facts-ma’am” style that is refreshingly straightforward.
Officer.com
News for law enforcement

Gizmodo
A design and technology blog
How To Geek
We are an online tech magazine, dedicated to providing interesting articles, how-tos, and even fun trivia to our audience of geeky — and not-so-geeky readers. We’ve tried really hard to make sure that our content is understandable for regular people, but geeky enough that the more technical readers would find it interesting as well
TechCrunch
TechCrunch is a leading technology media property, dedicated to obsessively profiling startups, reviewing new Internet products, and breaking tech news.
Wired Magazine
Get in-depth coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, science, & politics.
ZDNet
ZDNet brings together the reach of global and the depth of local, delivering 24/7 news coverage and analysis on the trends, technologies and opportunities that matter to IT professionals and decision makers.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Finding Research Resources

Newspaper Info

Information

Libraries

Contact