FIU Libraries: Literature Review Research Strategies: The Process vs. The Product

WHAT IS A LITERATURE REVIEW?

A literature review is an overview of significant literature published on a topic.

A review of the literature (the process) is accomplished in preparation for writing a literature review (the product).

LITERATURE REVIEW: THE PROCESS

“…is a systematic, explicit, and reproducible method for identifying, evaluating, and synthesizing the existing body of completed and recorded work produced by researchers, scholars, and practitioners.”

- A. Fink. Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From Internet to Paper

The Process of Reviewing the literature requires:

Problem formation

- Identifying an initial, broad topic

- Searching for background and initial information

- Developing a focused topic / problem

Literature search

- Searching for information

Data evaluation

- Evaluating and managing search results

Analysis and interpretation

- Organizing and synthesizing information

- Writing an assessment of the literature

LITERATURE REVIEW: THE PRODUCT

“A literature review is...

- a summary and evaluation of the significant research published on a topic

- organized in a way that shows the relationship between research studies, as well as the way each has contributed to an understanding of the topic

- a secondary source because it is an overview of existing research on the topic”

- Adeplhi University tutorial, Conducting a Literature Review in Education and the Behavioral Sciences

A literature review might be a/an:

- Unpublished review for assignment / project

- Part of a published article in the introduction or literature review section

- Published review article

- In preparation for, and a part of, a thesis or dissertation

- Part of a grant proposal

"The format of a literature review may vary from discipline to discipline and from assignment to assignment...

As evidenced by examples above, "...a review may be a self-contained unit -- an end in itself -- or a preface to and rationale for engaging in primary research. A review is a required part of grant and research proposals and often a chapter in theses and dissertations.

Generally, the purpose of a review is to analyze critically a segment of a published body of knowledge through summary, classification, and comparison of prior research studies, reviews of literature, and theoretical articles."

- The University of Wisconsin - Madison, Writing Center

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Literature Review Research Strategies

Resources about the lit review

WHAT IS A LITERATURE REVIEW?

The Process vs. The Product

PROCESS OR PRODUCT?

QUESTIONS TO ASK

Information

Libraries

Contact