FIU Libraries: United Nations: An Introduction: Secretariat

The Secretariat

The Secretariat administers and coordinates the activities of the United Nations. It consists of an international civil service at UN Headquarters in New York and other UN stations all over the world. The Secretariat is headed by the United Nations Secretary-General.

Functions of the Secretariat

The Secretariat is responsible for the UN administration:

prepares the sessions of the UN bodies in terms of organization
edits a large number of reports and studies upon which the decisions of the UN bodies are to be based
prepares draft texts of resolutions
organizes the implementation of decisions,
documents the work of the United Nations while registering and editing the texts in their different stages
organizes international conferences
supplies interpreters
translates documents into all UN official languages

(Information taken from the UN web-page, section Main Bodies, Secretariat.)

Executive Office of the Secretary-General (EOSG)

Office of Internal Oversight Services (OIOS)

Office of Legal Affairs (OLA)

Department of Political Affairs (DPA)

Office for Disarmament Affairs (ODA)

Department of Peacekeeping Operations (DPKO)

Department of Field Support (DFS)

Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)

Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)

Department for General Assembly and Conference Management (DGACM)

Department of Public Information (DPI)

Department of Safety and Security (DSS)

Department of Management (DM)

ST/	Secretariat

Report of the Secretary-General on the Work of the Organization

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

United Nations: An Introduction