| What is PubMed? |
What is MEDLINE? |
What is Embase? |
- Online version of Index Medicus produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) used to find literature in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- Freely available on the Internet. (Access PubMed through the FIU link to check for article availability.)
|
- A subset of PubMed (actually about 98%) made available by NLM to commercial suppliers, used to find literature in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- Available by subscription through a number of interfaces. FIU provides access to the Ovid and ProQuest interfaces.
|
- An Elsevier database that covers the same subjects as PubMed/MEDLINE, with an additional focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine.
- Available by subscription through a number of interfaces. FIU provides access to Embase.com.
|
| Coverage of PubMed |
Coverage of MEDLINE |
Coverage of Embase |
- Dates: Late 1940s (selectively back to 1809) to the present.
- Contains over 24 million citations. In addition to the MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains:
- Out-of-scope citations (on non-biomedical topics) from indexed journals.
- 'In Process' citations.
- Some older citations.
- Some additional journals that submit full text to PubMed Central.
- Citations to e-books in the NCBI Bookshelf collection.
|
- Dates: 1946 to the present.
- Contains approximately 19 million citations 5,600 journals worldwide (mainly US titles).
|
- Dates: 1947 (selectively back to 1902) to the present.
- Contains over 28 million records from more than 8,300 journals.
- Includes all of MEDLINE's citations plus 6 million more and 2,500 journals not currently indexed in MEDLINE (including many EU titles). Also includes abstracts from over 1,000 conferences.
|
| Full Text in PubMed |
Full Text in MEDLINE |
Full Text in Embase |
| Some free full text available in PubMed via PubMed Central. Other articles may be accessed using the "'Find It @ FIU" icons/links (use the FIU link to PubMed). |
Articles may be accessed using the "'Find It @ FIU" icons/links in both the Ovid and ProQuest platforms |
Articles may be accessed using the "'Find It @ FIU" icons/links or by going to the publishers' websites using the "View Full Text" tabs. |
| Searching PubMed |
Searching Medline |
Searching Embase |
- Conduct quick searches with keywords. Keywords are automatically mapping to Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms).
- Conduct advanced searches using MeSH terms and subheadings via the MeSH Database.
- Use filters to limit results.
- LibGuide: https://library.fiu.edu/pubmed
|
- Depends on platform.
- Ovid: defaults to guided search through the selection of MeSH terms and subheadings from keywords.
- ProQuest: use keywords or MeSH terms and subheadings (via thesaurus).
- Use limiters to limit results.
- LibGuide: https://library.fiu.edu/medline
|
- Conduct quick searches with keywords.
- Conduct advanced searches using Emtree (subjects with more natural language than MeSH) and subheadings.
- Search for detailed pharmacological information using the specialized "Drug Search."
- Use filters to limit results.
- Can limit results to include non-MEDLINE citations (see box at left of this page).
|
| Other Features of PubMed |
Other Features of MEDLINE |
Other Features of Embase |
- Includes "Related Citations," highlighting review articles.
- Register with "My NCBI" or use an existing Google account to save searches, set up email alerts, and customize filters.
- Export citations to RefWorks (requires downloading/uploading files).
|
- Includes options to "Find Similar" and "Find Citing Articles" on Ovid platform.
- Register with ProQuest to save searches, set up email alerts, and obtain RSS feeds.
- Export citations to RefWorks automatically.
|
- Includes graphic-based filters.
- Register with Embase to save searches and set up email alerts.
- Export citations to RefWorks automatically.
|
| When to Use PubMed |
When to Use MEDLINE |
When to Use Embase |
- If you are unable to access subscription databases.
- To map keywords to subjects (MeSH terms) easily.
- To explore the MeSH database as a standalone.
- For clinical queries and genetics topics.
- To be offered related citations.
|
- If you frequently use other Ovid or ProQuest databases and prefer their search interface.
- For guided MeSH subject searching (Ovid).
- For extensive medical subheadings and other search limiting options (Ovid).
- To export citations automatically to RefWorks without uploading a file.
|
- For natural language searches.
- For in-depth drug searches.
- For drug/pharmacy topics.
- To find conference abstracts.
- To export citations automatically to RefWorks without uploading a file.
|
FDLP Library
