FIU Libraries: Health Literacy Resources: Consumer Health

GENERAL HEALTH RESOURCES

	MedlinePlus: The U.S. National Library of Medicine's source of health information for patients and their families and friends. Also available in Spanish.
	U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: Government agency that is in charge of protecting the health of Americans and providing human services for all who need it.
	National Institutes of Health: The nation's medical research agency.
	health.gov: Health information for individuals and families.
	HealthCare.gov: Information on finding insurance options, prevention, comparing care quality and understanding the new Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Also available in Spanish.
	healthfinder.gov: Information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy. Also available in Spanish.

WOMEN'S HEALTH

	Womenshealth.gov: Provides the necessary health information and helpful news to women. Also available in Spanish.
	girlshealth.gov: Provides information about health and growing up for girls between the ages of 10 and 16.

MEN'S HEALTH

	CDC Men's Health: Men's health information, tips, and research from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also available in Spanish.
Men's Health	Men's Health: Health information for men of all ages provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Also available in Spanish.

CANCER

National Cancer Institute: Information on cancer-related topics, clinical trials, statistics, and news compiled by the National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health.

IMMUNIZATION

	vaccines.gov: This site explains the significance of each vaccine, who needs to take them and when, and much more. Also available in Spanish.
	FLU.gov: In this site you will find information about the flu and ways to get it treated. Also available in Spanish.

STATE RESOURCES

Florida Health Finder: Maintained by the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration, includes health care quality comparison tools, a health encyclopedia, and other resources with the goal of providing easy access to health care information.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Health Literacy Resources

SEARCH MEDLINEPLUS

HEALTH NEWS

LEGAL INFORMATION

FITNESS TIPS

GENERAL HEALTH RESOURCES

WOMEN'S HEALTH

MEN'S HEALTH

Men's Health

CANCER

IMMUNIZATION

STATE RESOURCES

Information

Libraries

Contact