Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPW 5806 Methods of Literary Research

Course guide for SPW 5806, Dr. Renee Silverman, Fall 2021

journals

  • Go to the A-Z List to select the following databases by the first letter of their name at the top of the page. Most of these databases except when noted below use the 'Find It at FIU' link to search for online full-text of articles.
  • This is only meant to be a selective list of key databases. Be sure and look at others that you already know when you think they would also have good coverage on your topic.
  • Many of the subject headings listed under finding books may also work in the listed databases as keyword searches. Every database develops its own list of subjects to use. Do a keyword search and compare your results with the subject headings (also called descriptors) in the records you find. They might provide you with better ways to do your search again.
  • Each database may have different features that will expedite your searches. Look at links and/or icons for these functions.
  • In some you can create an account to save citations for later review.
  • You can often e-mail citations to yourself or a colleague.
  • See if the database allows you to export a citation directly into RefWorks or another bibliographic management program.

The FIU Libraries offer beginning and advanced workshops on using RefWorks on multiple dates. Go to the Graduate Studies page and click on the "Upcoming Workshops" tab for further information.

Journal articles on Spanish and Latin American literature can appear in journals dedicated to those areas but will also be found in journals with a different focus. Always be aware of research's multi/interdisciplinarity.

Try these steps in the online catalog to identify journals:

Change any field to Subject.

Try these searches:

Spanish literature--Periodicals

Latin American literature--Periodicals

Mexican literature--Periodicals (substitute any other country here)

Comparative literature--Periodicals

Spanish language--Periodicals (substitute another language here)

Linguistics--Periodicals

Romance languages--Periodicals

Romance literature--Periodicals

Romance philology--Periodicals

Folklore--Periodicals (This heading cam be combined with a geographic subdivision)

Motion pictures--Periodicals (This heading cam be combined with a geographic subdivision)

Drama--Periodicals (Remember here you can add the adjective of a particular country)

Theater--Periodicals (This heading cam be combined with a geographic subdivision)