Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPW 5806 Methods of Literary Research

Course guide for SPW 5806, Dr. Renee Silverman, Fall 2021

Other Types of Databases and Digital Collections

The Biblioteca Digital Hispánica of the Biblioteca Nacional de España provides access to the digitized portion of the BNE's vast collections.

Cervantes virtual (Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes) is a major portal from Spain with extensive full-text content of literary texts and critical material on Spanish and Latin American literatures.

The Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources page moderated by the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials provides links to a variety of digital collections primarily in the US but other countries as well.

The Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica is a cooperative full-text collection of Spanish journals and newspapers coordinated by the Spanish Ministerio de Educación, Cultura, y Deporte.

The Hemeroteca Digital of the Biblioteca Nacional de España provides much of its journal and newspaper collection online. Includes titles published in Latin America.

The Portal de Revistas Científicas Complutenses provides full-text access and a search platform for scholarly journals published at the Universidad Complutense, Madrid.

Redalyc (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal) is a massive portal to full-text of journals published in Latin America, Spain, and Portugal. At times it can be slow to respond.

Scielo (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is another portal that covers Latin America, Spain, and Portugal. It primarily features journal titles in the sciences but also contains a brief list of humanities titles.