Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sacred Texts and Writings
For more description, click on the more...
Internet Sacred Text Archive
"In existence since 1999, The Internet Sacred Text Archive comes closer than any other site to being an all-inclusive, comprehensive site providing primary texts for the study of belief and belief systems." (ARBA 2005)
World Scripture: A Comparative Anthology of Sacred Texts
This site/archive contains the complete text of the original hardbound version of this source. The site "contains over 4000 scriptural passages from 268 sacred texts and 55 oral traditions organized in terms of 164 different themes common to all religious traditions.
The Unbound Bible
"A large collection of searchable Bibles, including seven English versions, Hebrew Bible, transliterated Hebrew, four Greek versions of the New Testament, the Septuagint, and the Vulgate."
This is a diverse collection of links to selected, noteworthy websites. For more description of some sites, click on more... below the link.
GENERAL & INTERESTING WEBSITES
Pandemic Religion: A Digital Archive
Pandemic Religion: A Digital Archive collects and preserves experiences and responses from individuals and religious communities during the COVID-19 pandemic. Pandemic Religion is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, in partnership with the Center for the Study of Religion and American Culture at IUPUI.
Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide
“Websites on Religion” is a selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion.
Websites, syllabi, texts, journals, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.
ARDA - Association of Religion Data Archives
ARDA "provides statistics on religious bodies...in U.S. and internationally. It focuses on Christian congregations, but includes some information on other denominations.
The Pluralism Project
This excellent site, produced at Harvard University through the Committee on the Study of Religion, maintains an extensive directory of religious centers in the United States and maps of the Geographic Distribution of Religious Centers in the U.S.
Virtual Religion Index
This selective, well annotated gateway to info on all major religions was an archived site, but has recently gone through some revision. It still contains a large amount of active links.
"Through monitoring new books and approximately 1,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals (including newspapers from across the country, newsletters, magazines, scholarly journals and the Internet), and through first-hand reporting, that Religion Watch has tracked hundreds of trends on the whole spectrum of contemporary religion. Published by Baylor University, Institute for the Studies of Religion.
Overview of World Religions and Ecology
Provides an overview and numerous essays on religious perspectives of individual religions on ecology.
The Forum on Religion and Ecology is the largest international multireligious project of its kind. It recognizes that religions need to be in dialogue with other disciplines (e.g., science, economics, education, public policy) in seeking comprehensive solutions to both global and local environmental problems. The Forum is provided by Yale University.
Science and Religion
"This section of the National Center for Science Education website offers resources for exploring a wide array of religious perspectives on scientific questions, and scientific perspectives on topics of interest to various religious groups. [It] also provide resources for anyone interested in a general exploration of the relationship between science, especially the evolutionary sciences, and religion."
Jewish Women's Archive : Women of Valor
Features about a dozen famous and should be famous women for their significant contributions "to creating a more just & equitable world;" Photos, audio & video clips, writings and other primary sources are brought together in essays to tell each woman's story.
The World Prayers archive attempts to be representative of all life affirming faiths and spiritual practices without preference to any one.
Religious Studies Web Site
This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. Resources are arranged by format; religious group/selected topics; general search of the Web site. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library