FIU Libraries: REL6013: Modern Analysis of Religion: Books & eBooks

FINDING BOOKS, VIDEOS, & MORE

When searching for resources on a specific topic, you'll need to search a library catalog.

To locate resources in the FIU Libraries collections search the FIU Libraries Catalog.

FIU Libraries Catalog (handy quick search box at left) includes e-resources, print, and audiovisual materials.

To identify resources outside of the FIU Libraries, use the following catalogs. Then, borrow a resource using Illiad, our interlibrary loan service. Click here to open your free Illiad account.

WorldCat for resources in 70,000+ libraries worldwide

SUS Union Catalog for resources in the State University System Libraries

For additional libraries in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach counties, click here.

BROWSE THE SHELVES

You might like to browse the library shelves to find something of interest in your field. Books are arranged by subject using the Library of Congress call number system. The call number is located on the book spine.

Circulating books with these call numbers are located on the 7th floor.

BL Religion
BL1100-1295 Hinduism
BL1300-1380 Jainism
BM Judaism
BP Islam, Bahaism, Theosophy
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations

Browsing is too time consuming if you have a specific topic. For example, if you’re looking for an historical, sociological, psychological aspect of a topic, you might find something in the B, D, E, F or H sections of the library. For specific topics, search the FIU Library Catalog by keyword or subject.

FINDING BOOKS, VIDEOS, & MORE

When searching for resources on a specific topic or a specific title, you'll need to search a library catalog.

To locate resources in the FIU Libraries collections search the FIU Libraries Catalog.

NOTE: If you are searching from off-campus, remember to log-in with the Log In for Access link in the gold bar on the library homepage (library.fiu.edu). Without logging in first, you will not be able to access our online full-text resources.

FIU Libraries Catalog (handy quick search box at left) includes e-resources, print, and audiovisual materials.

To identify resources outside of the FIU Libraries, use the following catalogs. Then, borrow a resource using Illiad, our interlibrary loan service. (Click here to borrow from other libraries, and go to Create an Illiad account ) You can also use UBorrow to borrow directly from other state university and college libraries. See the link on the same page.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Includes resources in 70,000+ libraries worldwide (TIP: Use the Advanced Search tab to do more than a basic keyword search)

Search Florida Libraries for resources in the State University System and county College Libraries

REFERENCE eBOOKS & DATABASES

These selected scholarly resources provide excellent content and background information.

Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale. 2005
GVRL Religion Collection
Simultaneously searches over 30 religious studies titles including the Encyclopedia of Religion.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion This link opens in a new window
Review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate; Contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
"Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope,...this indispensable reference work covers all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Click here for access to the online version of the 15 volume, second edition and subsequent supplements. The encyclopedia includes articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
The definitive reference work for Judaic studies. Includes about 22,000 entries on people, places, events, topics, concepts, and texts. More than 2,600 entries are new to this edition; over half of the remainder were substantially revised. Note that this edition of the EJ includes an entire volume providing extensive coverage for the state of Israel and expanded coverage of women; it is also a rich resource on the Holocaust. - Guide to Reference

Brill's Encyclopedia of Islam Online This link opens in a new window
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
Encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. Brill Academic Publishers, Inc. via Gale, 2006.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online
Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.
more...less...
A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
more...less...
It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a groundbreaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale. 2004
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
This online version of the Encyclopedia of Hinduism currently includes all of volume 1 the content from 2-4 is ongoing. We own all four volumes, see the Library Catalog for the location of the print edition.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
"Provides a large number of accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws.
more...less...
• Wide-ranging topics include Hindu myths and legends, temple architecture, festivals, astrology, Ayurvedic medicine and contemporary Hinduism
• List of principal dynasties and empires gives cultural, religious and historical background
• Chronology places the main historical events and literary works
• Bibliographies for Art and iconography, Material culture, Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, History, Languages, Performing arts and Primary sources in translation
Thames & Hudson via Credo Reference, 2002.

World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
Reference resource covering faith, matters of belief, practice, celebrations, holidays, significant and sacred places; Content includes reference items, scholarly essays; religion overviews, primary sources, images, videos, and documents.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. 3 volumes. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale. 2014.
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
Key themes include: Leading Religious and Spiritual Figures, Traditions, Texts, Places, Religious and Spiritual, Practices, Religious and Spiritual Concepts, Religious and Spiritual Theory, Supports/Contexts, Nature, Health, Art, Organizations
more...less...
Excerpt from the Introduction: "Spiritual development and religious development are about identity development and how, across the human life span, one sees oneself in relation to that which is considered divine or transcendent. While religious development is usually about identifying oneself with a particular religious tradition, its practices and beliefs, spiritual development is about becoming a whole person, someone who stands for something that defines and gives meaning to being human. The two may overlap–so that what is spiritual is also religious– but they need not. There is religion without spirituality and spirituality without religion."
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This 10 volume "English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators. 2006. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Provides religious perspectives on many bioethical issues. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. 3rd edition. 2004. Macmillan Reference USA, Gale.
Bioethics
Offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as new or revised entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. Published in 2014. Previous editions published as the Encyclopedia of Bioethics.

Jewish Women : A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Features over 1,700 biographies, 300 thematic essays, and 1,400 photographs and illustrations on a wide range of Jewish women through the centuries -- from Gertrude Berg to Gertrude Stein; Hannah Greenebaum Solomon to Hannah Arendt; the Biblical Ruth to Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Additional relevant resources

Philosophy: Environmental Ethics
This volume is composed of twelve chapters covering such topics as population, novel ecoysystem, geoengineering, climate change, animal ethics, conciliation, and extinction.
Oxford Handbook of Religion and Ecology
Exploring traditional religious concepts of and attitudes towards nature and how these have been changed by the environmental crisis, this work looks at larger conceptual issues that transcend individual traditions and examines religious participation in environmental politics.
Grounding Religion : A Field Guide to the Study of Religion and Ecology
Based on a colloquium held Feb. 26-Mar. 1, 2009 at Florida International University, Miami, Fla.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

REL6013: Modern Analysis of Religion

CAN'T FIND WHAT YOU NEED IN THE CATALOG?

USE ILLIAD TO BORROW BOOKS WE DON'T OWN

FINDING BOOKS, VIDEOS, & MORE

BROWSE THE SHELVES

FINDING BOOKS, VIDEOS, & MORE

REFERENCE eBOOKS & DATABASES

Additional relevant resources

Information

Libraries

Contact