FIU Libraries: Religious Studies: Article Databases

off-campus access & getting full text

NOTE: For many of the resources listed, access on campus or through the "off-campus access" portal is required.

Access From Home

Forgot your password?

Call (305) 348-2284 or visit My FIU

Problems signing in?

Call (305) 348-2451 or (305) 919-5718

Help with logging in
Can you help me to logon? I need my Library Card number.

USE ILLIAD TO GET ARTICLES WE DON'T OWN

Use Illiad (interlibrary loan) to order articles from journals that we do not own. Open your Illiad account asap.

Order an article and you will be notified through email that your article is in your Illiad account. Most articles are sent as a pdf document in 3 - 5 days, sometimes quicker.

TIP: When database searching, if you click the FIND IT @ FIU button to see if we own an article but find that we do not, immediately use the Interlibrary Loan link in that window to order your article. The database usually fills in the form for you!

Databases

Journal articles on religious studies are covered in the following databases. Use these resources to find articles by searching for topics by subject and then identifying and locating relevant articles. Once you have exhausted these databases, turn to the related and interdisciplinary databases for additional articles.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Indexes 650+ scholarly journals, book reviews, and collections of essays in religious studies; Also includes full text access to 60+ religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. 1949-present.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines in the humanities; Full text coverage begins in 1994/5.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines in the humanities.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage from 1977-present. Useful for locating cited references of articles. As one of three citation databases in Web of Science, select it on the initial search screen.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world; Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present; The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
"A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages... The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Searching can be done in English or Hebrew.

Journal articles on religious studies topics are available through all of these databases.

World Religions: Beliefs, Culture, and Controversy
This collection contains essays, video and images on world religions and belief systems.

Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
"...allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996." NOTE: Registration is required upon initial login
Click Visit the Visual History Archive Online. Register for an account or click Create an Account.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes 5,500+ scholarly journals in anthropology and archaeology. Includes all data from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index, which combined provide an extensive worldwide index to all sub-fields of anthropology, plus ethnology, archaeology, and folklore.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
America : History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and life of the United States and Canada; Includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000+ scholarly journals in history from 1450 to the present; Excludes the United States and Canada.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,300+ international scholarly journals, books, book chapters, reports and other publications in psychology and related disciplines; Many records, added to the database since 1998, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy; The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
Philosophy Compass This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed surveys of the most important research and current thinking in philosophy.
Dissertation Abstracts - With Fulltext (PQDT : ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Dissertations & Theses @ Florida International University This link opens in a new window
via FLVC; This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at FIU; Full text is available from 1996.

New York Times [1980 - present] This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from the New York Times.
New York Times, Historical [1851 - 2014] This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of articles from the New York Times.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest Newspaper titles: The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post

All Newspaper Databases

LOOKING FOR A SPECIFIC ARTICLE OR JOURNAL?

Use the E-Journals tab above the search box on the FIU Libraries homepage. If that doesn't lead to a full-text article, try the next option.
Use Find it @ FIU / Citation Linker via the FIU Libraries homepage to locate articles that you find when you're not using a database. It works like FIND IT @ FIU but you don't have to be in a database to find out if we own an article or journal in full-text online, in print, or microform.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Religious Studies

off-campus access & getting full text

Forgot your password?

Problems signing in?

USE ILLIAD TO GET ARTICLES WE DON'T OWN

Databases

LOOKING FOR A SPECIFIC ARTICLE OR JOURNAL?

Information

Libraries

Contact