Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Studies

A guide to information, resources and services in support of graduate scholarship.

Frequently Asked Questions - Grad Student Edition

Library Workshop Series: Fall 2021


List of all current workshops.  Click the workshop name to view description, date/time, and register for the session.
Library Research Refresher
Cite Your Sources Automagically
RefWorks for Citation and Bibliography Management
EndNote for Citation and Bibliography Management
Zotero for Citation and Bibliography Management
Where Should I Publish My Research?
Data Management

Library Research Refresher


Are you a new graduate student or do you need a refresher on using the FIU Libraries' resources and services to support your research? This workshop will help you with:

 

  • Library services and policies for grad students

  • How to access books, articles, databases & more

  • Reviews research strategies and search techniques

  • Databases - subject & interdisciplinary

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, September 14: 3:30 - 4:45 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/SoqlYsg1M0U
Register for this Graduate Workshop

Cite Your Sources Auto-magically


There are so many reference management programs available.  Which one will do what you need it to do?  We will compare the features of RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, September 21 - 3:30-4:30 p.m.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/YQJLgc9Omiw
Register for this Graduate Workshop

Literature Review Research Strategies


This session provides strategies and techniques for building a literature review, staying up on new literature, and keeping track of sources and searches.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, September 28: 3:30 - 4:45 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/TyQ2GctEnyw
Register for this Graduate Workshop

RefWorks for Citation and Bibliography Management


RefWorks is a web-based citation management software that facilitates easy bibliography creation including integrated use with MS Word or Google Docs.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, October 5: 3:30 - 5:00 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/1z-48njh3e4
Register for this Graduate Workshop

EndNote for Citation and Bibliography Management


EndNote is a web and desktop-based citation management software that facilitates easy bibliography creation including integrated use with MSWord and Google Docs.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, October 12: 3:30 - 5:00 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/II6hl8dFr84
Register for this Graduate Workshop

Zotero for Citation and Bibliography Management


Zotero is a web-based citation management software that facilitates easy bibliography creation including integrated use with MS Word or Google Docs.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, October 19: 3:30 - 5:00 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/RzLD_ZiRl0Q
Register for this Graduate Workshop

Where Should I Publish My Research?


This workshop will focus on evaluative questions, criteria and methods you can use to analyze and identify appropriate, relevant and legitimate journals in which to publish your research and scholarship.

If you are seeking a journal that is appropriate for your research topic, or you have received a solicitation from a publisher and you want to evaluate them before replying, this workshop is for you!

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, October 26: 3:30 - 4:45 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: https://youtu.be/hDAoo_83eeY
Register for this Graduate Workshop

Data Management


This workshop is geared towards students who will be creating or have already gathered data related to their thesis or dissertation. Topics will include: Understanding Research Data, Organizing Data, File Formats, Documentation and Metadata, Storage, Privacy Rights and Access, and Preservation.  Provides intro to the data management lifecycle and provides details about the ETD Data Pilot Program.

 

Workshop Date: Tuesday, TBD: 2:00 - 3:00 PM.
NOTE: You must use your FIU email address to sign in to the workshop.
Here's the Zoom VIDEO from an earlier session: http://libtube.fiu.edu/Play/10884
Register for this Graduate Workshop

 10 Things Grad Students should know about the FIU Libraries

 

1. Off-campus access

Access library resources 24/7 via our homepage – library.fiu.edu. Use the LOG IN FOR ACCESS link on the library homepage to enter your library account number or FIU email & password to access resources anywhere. Call Circultation (see the bottom of the library homepage) if you’re having a problem.

2. Library hours

Library hours will be adjusted based on community factors. Visit the library homepage at library.fiu.edu and look for “Time and Space” for current hours, click on HOURS for our full schedule, or text the word HOURS to 305-240-6585 to get our current hours sent to you.

3. Research tools

The “Research Start” box on our website will bring you to more than 300 databases and resources providing access to thousands of online journals, newspapers, books, reports, and more. You can browse our resources by subject to identify databases in disciplines across the university, or by A-Z if you know the name of a specific resource.

4. Research consultations

Research consultations for in-depth help are available by appointment with your subject librarian. Visit go.fiu.edu/subjectlibrarian to find yours.

5. Your library account

The back of your FIU OneCard contains your 14-digit Library account number and barcode.  It can be used to access our resources when you’re off campus, to borrow books, and to utilize other services.  If you have any problems logging in, call the Circulation Desk (bottom of the homepage) to make sure your account is activated.

6. Manage your references and bibliography with RefWorks, EndNote or Zotero

Manage your citations with RefWorks or another management tool. These free tools allow you to import citations from databases; will help you organize your research; create bibliographies and works cited; and more! Access via A-Z Databases from the “Research Support” box on the library homepage.  Attend online workshops, signups on this GradStudies guide.

7. Borrow from other libraries

Open up an ILLIAD interlibrary loan account in order to borrow books and articles that are not owned by the FIU Libraries. Click on the “Interlibrary Loan” box from the library homepage, and then select “First Time Users.”

8. Thesis & dissertation research

Grad students performing thesis or dissertation research must be registered to have access to our online resources while off-campus.  FYI – Spring registration includes Summer access as long as you haven’t graduated.

9. Loan periods

Grad students have 120-day loan period for borrowing books, plus 2 renewals, for an additional 120 days each – a total of 360 days!

10. Graduate workshops available
Workshops on library research topics and designed specifically for grad students are available for you to attend live and/or on video.  See the schedule of upcoming workshops each semester on this Graduate Studies Guide.

HOW DO I GET A LIBRARY CARD?
The back of your FIU OneCard contains your 14-digit Library account number and barcode.  It can be used to access our resources when you’re off campus, to borrow books, and to utilize other services.  If you have any problems logging in, call the Circulation Desk (MMC 305-348-2451, BBC 305-919-5718) to make sure your account is activated.

Bonus!  Your FIU One Card gives you borrowing privileges at Florida's State Universities and Community College Libraries.  FYI, call the other library before going to be sure of their policy.  In addition to your FIU One Card, they may also require proof that you're currently enrolled, like a course schedule.

WHEN IS THE LIBRARY OPEN?
During regular semesters, the Libraries have extensive hours, but currently they will be adjusted based on community factors.  On the library homepage, click on "Hours" for the full schedule, or text the word HOURS to 305-240-6583 to get current hours sent to you.

ARE LAPTOPS, COMPUTERS & WIFI AVAILABLE?
You can access the University's WiFi from your own devices, or use one of our desktop computers when you visit the Libraries.  For policy on borrowing laptops and other devices, see this FAQ for policy updates.

CAN I RESERVE A ROOM TO WORK IN? 

Graduate Study Carrels (policies)

Student Carrels for graduate students and PhD candidates are available on a first-come, first-served basis.  There are a limited number of carrels available.  Carrels are granted on a semester-by-semester basis and must be applied for by application.

Group Study Rooms (policies)

Groups of two or more students are able to reserve study rooms at Green Library and Hubert Library using the online reservation system.  Rooms can be reserved in 3-hour blocks and up to 14 days in advance.

DOING THESIS OR DISSERTATION RESEARCH?
Grad students performing thesis or dissertation research must be registered to have access to our online resources while off-campus.  FYI – Spring registration includes Summer access as long as you haven’t graduated.

HOW DO I ACCESS THE FIU LIBRARIES BOOK COLLECTIONS?

The FIU Libraries collections can be searched through the FIU Library Catalog.

In addition to our book collection, it includes all types of resources like video, music, maps and more. 

Each library record will tell you the location of the item, a call number that is used to locate the item on the shelf, and it will tell you if the item is checked out.

When you find an ebook, you will see an ebook icon and a link that says "FIU users: view content here".  As long as you've signed into the Library website, like you would for off-campus access, it should recognize you as an FIU user.  This link will usually take you directly to the ebook, but sometimes it takes you to a vendor screen first before the book itself.  And sometimes it will ask you to sign in for a second time. 

If you have any problems signing in, contact us via Ask US or chat.  Or contact the Circulation desks (MMC 305-348-2451 or BBC 305-919-5718).

HOW LONG CAN I KEEP A BOOK OUT?  CAN I RENEW IT?

Grad students have a 120-day loan period for borrowing books, plus 2 renewals, for an additional 120 days each – a total loan period of 360 days! 

For more details, see the following links:


HOW CAN I GET A BOOK THAT SOMEONE ELSE BORROWED?


WHAT SHOULD I DO IF THE LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE A BOOK THAT I NEED?

There are two ways to order books that we do not own.  

1. UBorrow:  When searching in the Library Catalog, you may have noticed the UBorrow symbol on the right above the results.  This indicates that other libraries at other State Universities and Colleges own material that matches your search.  You can click on UBorrow to see if a print copy is available from one of these libraries, and then order it directly from them.  This is often quicker than ordering through interlibrary loan.

2. Illiad (interlibrary loan):  If the FIU Libraries do not own a book or article that you need, you can order it through Illiad.  You don't need to know what other library has it, we search for the one that will send it quickest.  On the FIU Libraries homepage, click on the Interlibrary Loan box to open an account and to order.

WILL THE LIBRARY CONSIDER BUYING A BOOK THAT I NEED?

WHAT ARTICLE DATABASES ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE?  HOW DO I USE THEM?
From the FIU Libraries homepage, library.fiu.edu, navigate to Research Start.  This page will bring you to more than 300 databases providing access to thousands of online journal articles, books and chapters, newspapers, reports and more.

  • The A-Z list -  Use this list if you already know the name of a database.
  • Subject searching in your discipline - For more focused searching, use the A-Z list and filter your search by clicking on SUBJECT and selecting your interest area.  A list of Best Bets will provide the most recommended databases, followed by an alphabetical list of additional relevant databases.  Subject liaison(s) and appropriate research guides will appear in the right margin.
  • Frequently used tools -  Use these for general, interdisciplinary searches.  Academic Search Complete is a good place to begin but it will have a much smaller number of journals from each discipline than a subject database.
    • For example:  Academic Search Complete indexes about 50 psychology journals, whereas PsycINFO currently indexes 2,568 journals covering all aspects of psychology.

Access to the Articles - Once you select a database, enter search terms, and you've identified an interesting article, click on  Search FIU subscriptions for full-text access to go to the online full-text article.  If we don't have access to an article, you can quickly order it with the interlibrary loan link.  Once ordered, you will receive an email within 1-3 days directing you to find the scanned pdf of the article waiting in your Illiad account.

CAN I GET INTO THESE DATABASES FROM HOME OR OFF-CAMPUS?
Yes!  99.9% of our databases are searchable from off campus as long as you sign in.  The gold LOG IN FOR ACCESS link on our homepage will take you to the log in page.  Follow instructions and you'll be returned to the library.fiu.edu to begin searching.

CAN I GET JOURNAL ARTICLES ONLINE?
Yes!  A significant number of journal articles are available in electronic format, but not all.  Finding them depends on if you do or do not have a specific journal or article in mind.

If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind, then search an appropriate database for a topic, the results will either provide a link to full-text or you will click on Search FIU subscriptions for full-text access to go directly to the online full-text article or to sources that provide the full-text article.

CAUTION! If you limit a database search to full-text only, you will be limiting yourself to the titles provided by that database and restricting yourself from seeing FIU's extensive full-text holdings.  It is better to search without limiting to full-text.  The database usually does a good job of advertising when they provide full-text for each specific result, but in situations where they do not have full-text, you can use the FIND IT @ FIU link (shown above) to determine if we have it available to you.

If you already know of a journal title or are seeking a specific article, here are a couple of strategies. 

  1. Use our FIND IT @ FIU / Citation Linker  under FIND on our homepage.  You can search for a journal name and year, a specific journal issue, or a specific article.  After you enter the appropriate information, it will tell you if we have online access and link you there.
  2. We also have a tab labeled "E-journals" above the search box on the homepage where you can search or browse our e-journal titles by name or by subject area.
  3. NOTE: Both of these methods can be helpful and sometimes indicate differing avenues to find full-text.  If one doesn't work out, please try the other.  If you need assistance, don't hesitate to click ASK US for help.

HOW DO I KNOW IF THE LIBRARY SUBSCRIBES TO THE JOURNAL I NEED?

  1. Use our FIND IT @ FIU / Citation Linker  under FIND on our homepage.  You can search for a journal name and year, a specific journal issue, or a specific article.  After you enter the appropriate information, it will tell you if we have online access and link you there.
  2. We also have a tab labeled "E-journals" above the search box on the homepage where you can search or browse our e-journal titles by name or by subject area.
  3. NOTE: Both of these methods can be helpful and sometimes indicate differing avenues to find full-text.  If one doesn't work out, please try the other.  If you need assistance, don't hesitate to click ASK US for help.

  If we don't have online access, you can search the FIU Catalog to see if we have print issues!  Yes, there are still many journals that are not available online.

HOW CAN I ACCESS ARTICLES THAT WE DO NOT HAVE ACCESS TO OR DON'T OWN?
If we do not own an article that you need, you can order it through Illiad (interlibrary loan).  You don't need to know what other library has it, we find the library that will send it the quickest.  On the FIU Libraries homepage, click on the Interlibrary Loan box to open an account and to order.

HOW CAN I GET RESEARCH ASSISTANCE?

Research consultations
For in-depth help with research, make an appointment to see your subject liaison.  Determine your subject liaison here

Other options for assistance:
For quicker research questions, use the ASK US page to Chat with a Librarian, Email a question, Search our FAQs, call, and more. You'll also see the ASK page link at the upper right side of the homepage and many other Library webpages.

If you're on campus and in-person services are resumed, go to the 2nd floor Information and Research Desk at MMC or the ASK! Center at BBC.  If your question is not as quick as anticipated, you will be referred to someone who can help you.

 

WHAT RESEARCH DATABASES ARE AVAILABLE?
The Research-Start page includes the A-Z lists with more than 300 databases providing access to thousands of online journals, newspapers, books, reports, and more.  You can browse our resources by subject to identify databases in disciplines across the university.  If you need guidance in selecting an appropriate database, click ASK US for assistance.

You can also utilize libguides for guidance.  These guides are curated by the subject specialists.

 

HOW CAN I ORGANIZE MY RESEARCH RESOURCES?  ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR CITATION AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT?
You will be doing many research papers, so it would be helpful to you to organize your research.  Rather than send your numerous database results to your email, send it to a bibliographic management tool like RefWorks that will allow you to organize your research into folders, to create bibliographies, and to incorporate your in-text citations into your papers.  You can even share your research with others.

We provide live workshops throughout the year (and videos of past workshops) on using citation management tools like RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero.  These free tools allow you to import citations from databases; will help you organize your research; create bibliographies and works cited; and more! Access via A-Z Databases from the “Research Start” box on the library homepage.  See the schedule of this semester's workshops on the workshop tab of this guide.

A variety of study environments are available to you: 

Quiet Zones define the Quiet Study Floors/Areas. A Quiet Zone is an area designated specifically for quiet study and reading.

  • Green Library, Modesto A. Maidique Campus: All areas of the 3rd, 6th, & 7th floors.
  • Hubert Library, Biscayne Bay Campus: All areas of the 3rd floor.

Group Study Rooms can be checked out from the Circulation Desk or reserved online. Limited numbers of Group Study Rooms are located at both the Green Library & Hubert Library. Group Study Rooms are available only for enrolled FIU students. They are available on a first-come, first-served basis OR can be scheduled ahead of time online.

Student Carrels for graduate students and PhD candidates are available on a first-come, first-served basis.  There are a limited number of carrels available.  Carrels are granted on a semester-by-semester basis and must be applied for by application.

DOES THE LIBRARY OFFER ANY SERVICES TO TEACHING ASSISTANTS?
Yes.  We provide many services to support teaching that are available for faculty and teaching assistants.  Go to this Faculty guide for specific services.

If you're teaching an online course, there are specific services noted in Resources for Online Teaching and Learning.

WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I THINK MY STUDENTS WILL NEED HELP IN THE LIBRARY?
Consult with the subject liaison for your area.  They can guide you and provide options including scheduling instruction session(s) that will support your particular research outcomes for your course.

HOW DO I GO ABOUT PUTTING READINGS ON RESERVE FOR MY CLASS?
Go to this webpage for Course Reserves Policy, procedures and a link to the Course Reserves Request form.