FIU Libraries: FIU Digital Project Guidelines and Help Materials: Link Checking with Google Spreadsheets

Link Checking with Google Spreadsheets

Import or create your spreadsheet in Google Sheets (available in Google Docs or Google Drive).
From the menu bar at the top of the spreadsheet, select Tools > Script Editor

In the Script Editor code box, enter this script:
function getURLStatus(url) {
var options = {
'muteHttpExceptions': true,
'followRedirects': false
};
var response = UrlFetchApp.fetch(url, options);
return response.getResponseCode();
}
Save the script and return to your spreadsheet
In an empty column, type this script: getURLStatus(2)
The number in the parentheses should reference the row number of the url you are testing
If you need to test URLs in multiple rows, just select the box with the getURLStatus script and drag down from the blue square
After the script loads you will see the results. 404 indicates a broken link, while 200 means the link works

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Circulation: 305.348.2451
Reference: 305.348.2454

Circulation: 305.919.5718
Reference: 305.919.5726