FIU Libraries: FIU Digital Project Guidelines and Help Materials: Copyright

Copyright in the United States - 2019

Unknown Creators
Creators	Date of Creation	Status	Rights Statement
Known or unknown	Before *1899	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Unknown	Unknown	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Unknown	*1899 -1945	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Unknown	1946 - present	In copyright	In copyright - rights-holder(s) unlocatable or unidentifiable http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-RUU/1.0/

*this date should be updated every year going forward

Known Creators
Creator	Date of Creation	Status	Rights Statement
Known or unknown	Before *1899	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Known, death date unknown	*1899-1945	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Known, death date unknown	1946 – present	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Known, died before 1946	Any	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Known, died after 1946	Any	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/

*this date should be updated every year going forward

Published Works of U.S. Creation
Rights Statement	Date of Creation	Status	Rights Statement
Any	Before *1924	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Any	Unknown	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Statement included	*1924 to March 1, 1989	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
No statement	*1924 – 1977	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
No statement	1978 – March 1, 1989	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Unknown	*1924 – 1977	Rights undetermined	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Statement allowing dissemination	*1899 - present	In copyright, dissemination permitted	In copyright - non-commercial use permitted http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-NC/1.0/

*this date should be updated every year going forward

International, Government, and Corporate Creators, Published and Unpublished
Creator	Publishing Status	Date of Creation	Status	Rights Statement
Federal employee (including military) in the service of the U.S.	Published or unpublished	Any	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
State of Florida employee in the service of the state	Published or unpublished	Any	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Existing Corporation including contractors	Unpublished	*1899 – present	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Existing corporation including contractors	Published	*1924 - present	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Defunct corporation	Unpublished	*1899 – present	In copyright – owner unlocatable	In copyright - rights-holders(s) unlocatable or unidentifiable http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-RUU/1.0/
Defunct corporation	Published	*1924 – present	In copyright – owner unlocatable	In copyright - rights-holders(s) unlocatable or unidentifiable http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-RUU/1.0/
International entity	Published	*1899 - present	In copyright, dissemination permitted	In copyright - non-commercial use permitted http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-NC/1.0/

*this date should be updated every year going forward

Postcards **Without** a Copyright Statement Published in the United States
Creator	Date	Status	Rights Statement
Any	created before 1989	*Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Any	Created after 2002	Dates of earliest copyright expiration: 2072, 2097, 2122	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Unknown	Unknown	undetermined (including any variation of known or unknown date or creator)	Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
		*Exceptions
Individual	1978 - March 1, 1989	If registered within 5 years of creation, earliest expiration is 2048	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Corporate	1978 - March 1, 1989	If registered within 5 years of creation, earliest expirations: 2073, 2098	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/

Postcards **with** a Copyright Statement or Symbol Published in the United States
Creator	Date	Status	Right Statement
Any	Before *1924	Public domain	No copyright - United States http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/
Any	*1924 - 1963	Undetermined or In copyright. May be in copyright until 2058 if renewed	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/ Copyright undetermined http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/UND/1.0/
Any	1964 - 1977	In copyright, will become public domain between 2059 - 2072	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
Any	1978 - present	In copyright	In copyright http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/

*this date should be updated every year going forward

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration