Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FIU Digital Project Guidelines and Help Materials

The internal standard operating procedures for FIU Libraries' digital collections

URL for canned search

OPTION 1

  • To create a canned search showing users a specific theme within a collection, (example: just Venetian Pool photos within the Coral Gables Memory Collection), log in to the back end of dPanther at http://dpanther.fiu.edu/sobek/
  • Using the Search Collection box, search for your topic (example: "newspapers")
  • You will notice that you get newspapers from many different collections, if you want to limit this to one collection you can click on the collection on the left (example: Miami Beach Digital Archive)
  • Notice that your URL now has the added aggregation code in it
  • This is the URL you will want to copy in order to show your users specific items within a collection.

OPTION 2

  • You can also create a canned search without logging in by using the following URL and adding your search term after the = sign: http://dpanther.fiu.edu/sobek/results/?t=
  • example with search term: http://dpanther.fiu.edu/sobek/results/?t= Venetian Pool
  • If you only want Venetian Pool records from the Coral Gables Memory collection, you will need to add your aggregation code inbetween SOBEK and RESULTS
  • example: http://dpanther.fiu.edu/sobek/cgm/results/?t=Venetian Pool