Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FIU Digital Project Guidelines and Help Materials

The internal standard operating procedures for FIU Libraries' digital collections

Batch creation of folders (MAC)

MAC - CREATING MULTIPLE FOLDERS AT A TIME

  • Open Terminal – if you don't know where it is, go to Mac Finder (little magnifying glass icon on top right of toolbar) and type in “Terminal”
  • Type cd /Volumes/Production/folder_name (find the path of the folder you want to paste your new folders into.  Note that /Volumes gets you to the top of the directory to locate the files on the production, archive directories.  cd=change directory, ls=list contents)
  • Got to your excel spreadsheet and highlight the column with the FI#s.  Paste them into word as text only.  Do an advanced find and replace with the paragraph mark with one space. 
  • Copy the FI#s with one space between them
  • In terminal, type mkdir and then paste the FI#s (mkdir=make directory)

  • Click Enter

CREATING SUBFOLDERS AT SAME TIME

If you want to create multiple folders with a subfolder, you can do so as follows:

  • Use command –p after mkdir to indicate you will have a parent and child directory
  • Follow commands as previously stated to make sure you are in correct folder
  • You may want to use excel to make columns as follows, with your parent directory in column A and your child directory in B (beginning with a slash)

select the two columns and paste into word as text only

Do a find and replace in word to turn delete the tabs, then find and replace paragraph with one space. 

Then copy and paste into terminal as follows:

batch creation of subfolders (pc)

  1. In the production drive open the DCC folder and then the PC_Scripts folder. 
    1. From the PC_Scripts folder choose the Subfolder Creator file.
      1. Choose RUN
  2. You will see a command box pop up asking for "Subfolder Name:"
    1. Type in 00001 (this assumes you are creating the necessary 00001 folders for dpanther) and hit ENTER
  3. Next, you will be asked to choose between 3 options, type in "1" and hit ENTER
  4. Next you will prompted to enter the path of your file.
    1. Example: P:\Example Folder
      1. Once you have the path typed in, hit ENTER
  5. Next, your subfolders within the main folder will be displayed and you will be asked if this is correct
    1. Type in "Y" and hit ENTER
  6. Finally, you will be asked to press any key to continue, PRESS ANY KEY
    1. You can press any key again to close the dialog box.