Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOP3742 / Psychology of Women

Quick and easy guide to finding peer-reviewed psychology articles.

Test Availability

How tests are published:

This Tests FAQ from APA explains in detail the issues with locating tests and measurements.

In a nutshell:

- If the test is unpublished then you can try accessing it through the resources described in this guide.

Tests and measurements may be available in journal articles, books, ERIC documents, dissertations, etc. 

You can also try searching Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes.  Once you identify the name of the book, check the catalog to see if we own the book. If we don't own the book, try WorldCat and request the book using Interlibrary Loan.

- If the test is published and commercially available, then you will need to purchase the test through the publisher. 

Information on how to purchase commercially available tests is listed in the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Test in Print.  You can also try the publisher's Web site (if one exists).

For more background information on how tests are published see the APA's FAQ on Finding Information About Psychological Tests.

APA FAQ: Finding Information About Psychological Tests

 

E-Journal

FINDING TEST & MEASUREMENTS: DATABASES

  • Provides provides full-text access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
  • PsycTESTS® is available from the PsycNET portal, so searching the PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES databases simultaneously is an available option.  To search only the PsycTESTS file, check the desired boxes.
  • From the Behavioral Measurement Database Service, 1985 - present.  HaPI focuses on medical measurement instruments, but includes medically related disciplines such as psychology, social work, speech and hearing therapy, etc.  Does not include a copy of the test.
  • Database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. ETS has permission to distribute over 1,200 tests in the collection that may be used in your research.

  • The databases listed below will include articles about tests and some may even include copies of the test or instrument.

  • PsycINFO uses the term "appended" for locating tests and measurements included in a  publication's appendix.  You may limit your search by typing the name of the instrument in the Test and Measures field.

Tips for finding tests and articles about tests in ERIC:

Option 1)  You may be able to find articles about a specific instrument by typing its name in the ERIC keyword search box.

Option 2)  You may also search for tests and measurements by entering information in the keyword search boxes and then add the keyword appended:

  • For example: (test OR assessment OR scale OR questionnaire OR measure OR survey) AND [your topic] AND appended
  • Using the keyword APPENDED will look for articles and documents that may have copies of the instrument attached.