FIU Libraries: Euro Challenge 2017-2018: EU Basics

European Union Basics

The European Union, or EU for short, is a unique economic and political partnership between democratic European countries whose aim is peace, prosperity and freedom for its citizens in a fairer, safer world.

The European Union was set up with the aim of ending the frequent and bloody wars between neighbours, which culminated in the Second World War. As of 1950, the European Coal and Steel Community begins to unite European countries economically and politically in order to secure lasting peace. The six founders are Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

For an easy-to-navigate guide, check out the Europa website's guide to the EU member states.

Countries that are members of the European Union set up governing bodies to run the EU and adopt its legislation. Prior to the Lisbon Treaty (which will change the future structure), the 3 main pillars were:

Council of the European Union
The Council is the EU's main decision-making body. Like the European Parliament, the Council was set up by the founding treaties in the 1950s. It represents the member states, and its meetings are attended by one minister from each of the EU’s national governments.
European Parliament
The European Parliament is the Community institution that represents the peoples of the Member States of the European Union.
European Commission
The European Commission is the EU's executive body. It represents and upholds the interests of Europe as a whole. It drafts proposals for new European laws. It manages the day-to-day business of implementing EU policies and spending EU funds. The Commission also makes sure that everyone abides by the European treaties and laws.

Euro Challenge Resources
Training and instructional videos for students and teachers , research materials and useful links to a wealth of resources - in short, all the information your team will need to prepare for the Euro challenge
Europa.eu
European Commission: The Euro
Links to information about the euro and its implementation, the economic situation, the Stability and Growth Pact, International economic issues, 'your' country and the euro and EMU.
Summaries of EU Legislation
Presents the main aspects of European Union (EU) legislation in a concise, easy-to-read and unbiased way.It provides approximately 3 000 summaries of European legislation, divided into 32 subject areas corresponding to the activities of the European Union.
European Economy and related publications (full text)
The premiere official economic journal for the European Union contains periodic forecasts, annual reports on the euro area and the EU economy reviews. Links to the Economic Papers, Occasional Papers, European Economy News, quarterly reports on the Euro Area, and the 'Country Focus'.

EU Membership

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:EC-EU-enlargement_animation.gif

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Euro Challenge 2017-2018

MAJOR WEBSITES

European Union Basics

EU Membership

Information

Libraries

Contact