Latin American & Caribbean Studies Guide

The pages gathered here are a selective grouping of digital projects that feature Latin American & Caribbean materials. Pages listed here are open access. Please go elsewhere to find databases and/or journal articles about Latin America & the Caribbean.

• dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean

  FIU coordinates this project in which a variety of libraries, archives and other research groups deposit their unique and other holdings in a searchable database.
• Brazilian Government Documents

  Various collections of national and provincial Brazilian documents from 1822 through 1993 produced by LAMP (Latin American Microform Project) at the Center for Research Libraries.
• Expeditions & Discoveries: Sponsored Exploration & Scientific Discovery in Modern Age

  This collection of Harvard sponsored expeditions includes maps, photographs, published materials, in addition to field notes, letters and manuscripts for Latin America and the Caribbean from 1626-1953.
• Gallica: bibliothèque numérique

  A major digital portal operated by the National Library of France; contains books and newspapers from the Francophone Caribbean, including Haiti.
• History of Science in Latin America and the Caribbean (HOSLAC

  A collection of primary sources on the sciences.
• LACC Publications Network

  Gateway to a variety of short reports and working papers published by the Kimberly Green Latin American and Caribbean Center at Florida International University.
• LAOAP: Latin American Open Archives Portal

  A full-text collection of social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.
• Latin American Travelogues

  A digital collection of Latin American and Caribbean travel accounts that range the 16th-19th centuries held at Brown University. Click on 'Browse' to see the list of countries covered.
• Manioc: bibliothèque numérique Caraïbe, Amazonie, plateau des Guyanes

  A digital collection emphasizing the Francophone Caribbean that includes books, journal articles, images, and conference materials.

  Le marronnage dans le monde atlantique: sources et trajectoires de vie

  Canadian project with collection of French and English language newspaper notices of fugitive slaves in the French Atlantic region.
• Mesolore

  Includes several pre and post-contact codices and other primary sources on indigenous Mexico.
• Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages

  A full-text collection created by the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project.
• Voyages: the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

  Massive project to provide a comprehensive view of the Trans-Atlantic slave trade. Contains over 35,000 records from 1514-1866.