FIU Libraries: Teaching with ArcGIS StoryMaps: StoryMaps Beyond FIU

Interdisciplinary StoryMaps

Impacts of COVID-19 on refugees and displaced communities

A multilingual collection of StoryMaps showing the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on refugees and other displaced communities. Created by personnel from the office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

The Texas Freedom Colonies Project Atlas

The Texas Freedom Colonies Project Atlas seeks to use the StoryMaps platform to create an interactive map of historic black settlements in the state of Texas. It is part of the larger Texas Freedom Colonies Project founded by Dr. Andrea Roberts of Texas A&M University. For more information on the project, see this blog post by University of Texas Librarian Adriana Cásarez.

Project from History of the Holocaust StoryMaps project collection

History of the Holocaust StoryMaps Collection

A collection of StoryMaps projects created by students in the Fall 2020 "History of the Holocaust" course with Professor Sheer Ganor at the University of Minnesota. For more information, see this blog post by Sheer Ganor, Shanna Crosson, Kyli Knutson, and Meyer Weinshel.

Earth's Biggest Storms: Tropical Cyclones

An interactive guide on tropical cyclones, with emphasis on Hurricanes Maria and Irma and their impacts in Puerto Rico. Created by Esri's Living Atlas Environment and StoryMaps teams.

Environmental Cost of Cryptocurrencies: Who is Responsible?

This StoryMaps project represents a data visualization of carbon emissions produced in the Bitcoin blockchain. It was created by Oliver Martínez López, a student at Tufts University and research analyst at Tufts' Fletcher School's Institute for Business in the Global Context.

Restoring Old Havana

A bilingual StoryMaps project showcasing historic preservation efforts in Havana's Old Havana/Habana Vieja neighborhood. Created by the Esri StoryMaps team.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Teaching with ArcGIS StoryMaps