FIU Libraries: Teaching with ArcGIS StoryMaps: Uses of ArcGIS StoryMaps

An Interdisciplinary Tool

Whether for STEM, Social Sciences, Humanities, or a combination of the three, ArcGIS StoryMaps can be found. StoryMaps have been used for a variety of purposes, with such examples as visualizing datasets, mapping urban policy impacts, tracking natural disaster, creating electronic portfolios, and interactive digital exhibits. Below you will find out more about the impacts StoryMaps can have for your classroom and career.

StoryMaps in the Classroom

In the era of hybrid and virtual classes, StoryMaps are a great method to keep the digital learning environment both interesting and engaging. Use a StoryMap as a replacement for PowerPoint in class lectures. Instead of, or as a compliment to a final paper, have students showcase their research in StoryMaps. Finally, encourage students to seek out StoryMaps projects relevant to their own interests as sources to cite in assignments.

University of Minnesota StoryMaps Website-Instructor Resources

The University of Minnesota Story Maps Curriculum Team has created a site of resources for both instructors and students on using ArcGIS StoryMaps. On this particular page, one will find examples of assignment prompts, rubrics for grading student projects, example assignments, and StoryMap guides to creating high-quality projects with the application. Link to site embedded in image.

Esri ArcGIS StoryMaps Gallery

On the Esri ArcGIS StoryMaps webpage, one can find a variety of different StoryMaps projects created by different entities. Link to site embedded in image.

Electronic Portfolio

An electronic portfolio made with ArcGIS StoryMaps is a great and cost-effective alternative to maintaining a personal website. Like a resume or CV, an electronic portfolio made with StoryMaps can be divided into different subsections that highlight one's education, career trajectory, publications, and more.

As one can see here, the author has divided this StoryMaps project into different subsections. In this particular section, they have utilized the Slideshow function of StoryMaps to provide a click-through overview of the different projects they worked on as a graduate student.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Teaching with ArcGIS StoryMaps

An Interdisciplinary Tool

StoryMaps in the Classroom

Esri ArcGIS StoryMaps Gallery

Electronic Portfolio

Information

Libraries

Contact