WST 4930-5935 & INR 4931 Gender & Migration

Florida International University has partnered with the City of Coral Gables to create a geospatially-enabled Virtual Historic City. With this tool, users may navigate to any point in the city at a selected time period (e.g. the Biltmore Hotel from the 1920s to 1940s) and experience the city as it was, through a wide variety of cultural artifacts and textual materials. A virtual walking tour of Coral Gables was also created, which includes an audio narration and 3D simulations providing the façades of historic buildings and landscape. Students, educators, historians, public policy administrators, architects, sociologists, environmental analysts, urban planners, and the general public can explore over 8,000 historical documents, photographs, oral histories, and maps that have been spatially registered to their relevant locations and time.

A knowledge management system developed by the GIS Center to support project reporting tools, project publications, and a project data portal for materials related to the Global Water for Sustainability Program (GLOWS) project.

The University of Florida (UF) has partnered with the City of St. Augustine to "unearth" archival repositories which have been previously inaccessible to researchers worldwide.

The digital archive supports research in a broad range of subjects: Florida and U.S. history, Spanish colonies, Native Americans, slavery, exploration, architecture and urban planning, social and economic development, missionary work, military defenses and warfare.

Currently, over 25,000 photographs, maps, overlays of the city, architectural drawings, government records, transcriptions of key Spanish documents, and archaeology site summaries have been digitized, with a majority of them geo-located. The collection not only satisfies the needs of a wide variety of researchers including historians, archaeologists, architects, historic preservationists, and those in the digital humanities, but the project also helps in telling St. Augustine's unique "story" of colonial heritage on a global scale.

FIU GIS Center partnered with UF libraries to create this interactive web interface for this digital archive collection.

The website has been created by Klokan Technologies GmbH, specialists in online map publishing and in applications of open-source software. It aims to demonstrate a combination of tools for publishing historical maps with a focus on their easy accessibility for the general public. The core of the retrieval system is the MapRank Search software, developed originally for the Swiss Kartenportal.CH project. The web is optimised for search engines with GeoSEO powered by Linked Data, and it also exposes Structured Data (Schema.org microdata). The technology and expertise from this project can be applied on another projects on request.

These pages link to selected collection content available online at the Library of Congress, arranged by broad categories. The Library's online content represents only a small percentage of its physical holdings.

The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 19,000 cds/dvds. The online map collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form.

The historical map collection has over 70,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.

Map resources from the University of Texas Libraries at University of Texas at Austin. Includes links to historical maps.