Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HFT 2220 - Human Resources Management for the Hospitality Industry

Directions for Peer Review page

Use the following resources to help understand peer review. Below the video, you will find instructions on how to use the search bar on the library homepage to limit articles to peer reviewed. At the bottom of the page, is a table comparing three different kinds of writing - peer reviewed, trade, and popular. 

What is Peer Review?

Finding Peer Reviewed Articles

Most of the library's research databases include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Learning to identify scholarly (often known as "peer-reviewed") and non-scholarly sources of information is an important skill to cultivate.  Many databases provide help with making this distinction; they will offer options when searching to identify peer-reviewed content. Each database interface will look a little different, but may include a way to limit your searches to peer-reviewed articles. 

Here are the steps for finding Peer Reviewed articles in the library databases:

  1. Go to the Library homepage
  2. Click Research: Start.
  3. You can choose databases on this page including ProQuest, Academic Search Complete, or Academic OneFile.
  4. Once you are in the database, choose "Advanced Search"
  5. There will be an option for Peer-Reviewed journals or publications; Click it and this will limit to peer-reviewed articles

Do you need to verify that a journal is peer-reviewed?

Additionally, Ulrich's Directory of Publications is a database that can be searched to verify the publication type (scholarly, refereed, magazine, etc).

Follow these steps:

  1. Start at the Library's homepage: library.fiu.edu
  2. Under "Find" on our homepage, click "A-Z List".
  3. Go to “U” in the A-Z list and select “Ulrich’s Web” from the list.
  4. Once you are in that resource you can do a search for your journal title and it will indicate whether your journal is peer-reviewed or not.

Step 1.

Visit the Library Homepage: https://library.fiu.edu/

Step 2.

Add search terms to "Search for Anything..."

Step 3.

On the left, under "Availability", choose "Peer-reviewed Journals"

How do articles get peer reviewed?
What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?

Peer-reviewed journals only publish articles that have been approved by a panel of experts/researchers/professionals in a field of study. Some research professors/assignments will require that you only use peer-reviewed sources.

The video below, from North Carolina State University Libraries, explains peer review and what it means to you; In 3 minutes, viewers of this video will become familiar with the peer-review process and understand its significance to new knowledge production and scholarly research.

Peer Reviewed vs. Trade