Skip to Main Content

Study Away France 2024, Honors College IDH4007/4008

Dual-Semester Course: IDH4007 in Spring FIU-MMC & IDH4008 in Summer B in France

Searching Databases by Subject

Search by Subject

  1. Go to the FIU Libraries
  2. Move cursor and click on the RESEARCH : START box
  3. Click on SUBJECT RESOURCES
  4. Continue to the next subject sections for specific directions and recommendations

Searching Tips:

  • Proceed to the specific groups of search types below after reading the remainder of this paragraph.
  • Within these subject group you will be directed to specific subjects's "Subject Home Page", with the default page "Guides" displayed
  • "Guides" are lists of library online resources (aka, LibGuides).  Most LibGuides are developed by FIU Librarians FIU courses and degree programs specifically.  Other sources are from national libraries and scholarly publishers.
  • "Subjects" are lists of database resources. Databases are the products of scholarly peer-reviewed publishers and professional academic organizations and associations. Some are from national libraries and for-profit publishers.

Learning French

  1. Go to the FIU Libraries
  2. Hover cursor over FIND
  3. Click on A-Z DATABASES
  4. Click on the letter M
  5. Scroll down to MANGO LANGUAGES.  Notice there there are 2 types of this database -- "Mango Languages" and "Mango Languages Mobile"
  6. Select your preferred database format type.  Your username and password will work with both database formats
  7. Scroll down to the "Don't Have a Profile? section and click on SIGN UP
  8. Establish your account.  When you exit, Mango will bookmark your last place in the language lessons, and will remember your completed studies.
  9. Never recommended to use as a "guest"

Business

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on BUSINESS.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • Note:  Business as a library subject resource is a very complex field of study.  Research about businesses in France or French business may necessitate use of the many Business databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases -- suggest exploring databases relevant to your research into business in France or French-owned.

Criminal Justice & Law

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on CRIMINAL JUSTICE & LAW.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    • Criminal Justice Database
    • Criminology Justice & Law: SAGE Journals

Culture

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on ANTHROPOLOGY.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
    • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Anthropology Plus
    • AnthroSource 2.0
    • eHRAF World Cultures

Europe & Eurasian Studies

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on EUROPE & EURASIAN STUDIES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Refer to this subject's BEST BETS for your preferred choices (there are a lot).

France (as a country)

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on COUNTRY INFORMATION.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • CIA - The World Fact Book
    • Country Fact Sheets
    • EIU.coom
    • Europa World Online
    • World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

Global & Sociocultural Studies

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on GLOBAL & SOCIOCULTURAL STUDIES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Global Issues in Context

History

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on HISTORY.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggest considering these BEST BETS databases:
    • ABC-CLIO Historical Research Database
    • Historical Abstracts
    • World History in Context

Hospitality & Tourism Management

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on HOSPITALITY & TOURISM MANAGEMENT
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggest considering these BEST BETS databases:
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

LBGTQ Studies

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on LBGTQ STUDIES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

Literature, Poetry & Composition

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on LITERATURE, POETRY & COMPOSITION.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

Modern Languages

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on MODERN LANGUAGES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

Music

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on MUSIC.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section

Philosophy

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on PHILOSOPHY.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

Political Science

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on POLITICAL SCIENCE.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Religious Studies

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on RELIGIOUS STUDIES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section.

Social Science

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on SOCIAL SCIENCE.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Social Science Database
    • Social Sciences Premium Collection (ProQuest)

Sociology

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on SOCIOLOGY.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases:
    • Sociological Abstracts
    • Sociology Database

Television & Film

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on TELEVISION & FILM.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section

Theater & Dance

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on THEATER & DANCE.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section

Women & Gender Studies

  • From the SUBJECTS page, click on WOMEN & GENDER STUDIES.
  • When finished reviewing the this GUIDES page, click on DATABASES to proceed.
  • All DATABASES pages regardless of subject are organized alphabetically into 2 lists -- BEST BETS and ADDITIONAL DATABASES.
  • BEST BETS -- these databases are directly related to the subject page you are viewing.
  • ADDITIONAL DATABASES -- these databases will have some relevant content to your subject, but also contain information about other databases.
  • Suggested BEST BETS databases: 
    • all databases in the BEST BETS section