FIU Libraries: Language Studies: Japanese, Korean, & Chinese: Japanese

Japanese Language Resources

Tofugu: The "I want to learn Japanese" Tofugu series starts at the very beginning of your Japanese language learning journey. This series assumes you have zero knowledge of the Japanese language and will guide you through each step. The series covers reading, writing, speaking, and listening. And explains what you should use, when, and why.

Renshuu: Renshuu is a fantastic, unknown Japanese language learning and practice website. When you sign up for free, you will have a dashboard filled will resources such as a study center, kanji index, grammar library, and even games to help hone your Japanese skills!

Wani Kani: Created by famed Japanese-culture website Tofugu, WaniKani strives to teach Japanese learners 2,000 kanji and 6,000 vocabulary words in a little more than a year.

Japanese Lesson: Japanese Lesson is a simplistic website that will teach you basic Japanese characters and vocabulary. There are even drill exercises to develop basic conversational skills. Their resources tab also offers printable PDF charts to help beginners with stroke order.

Grammar Course: Japanese Page's 100 Grammar Points is a great resource for those who appreciate organization. Grammar points are divided into lessons with explanations and examples of each grammar point described.

JGram: This site covers all the grammar points for every level of the JLPT. The page for each grammar point provides an explanation, plus loads of sample sentences. The sample sentences are user submitted, so there’s always a big variety.

Tae Kim's Guide: This is one of the best sites to learn Japanese grammar. It’s a comprehensive guide to Japanese grammar, from complete beginner level up to some very advanced phrases. You can access the full content of the guide for free on the website, or you can also download it as a free pdf or app.

NHK: Aside from being a TV and radio station, NHK also offers a Japanese learning program. They have a lot of free materials from PDFs to audio files! They even have quizzes and grammar lesson for those who wants to be challenged. Oh and the lessons are offered in 17 languages.

Japanese for Beginners by Sachiko Toyozato Japanese for Beginners is a straightforward learning guide which enables beginners to pick up a functional knowledge of spoken Japanese very quickly and easily. This complete Japanese language package has helped many thousands of people learn to speak colloquial Japanese. It is designed for busy people who wish to pick up a working knowledge of Japanese on their own in just a few days, rather than a few years.Japanese for Beginners makes this possible by providing a firm grounding in grammar and sentence structure using dialogues and vocabulary that reflect authentic Japanese situations and manga comic strips to emphasize contemporary culture and humor. Key features ofJapanese for Beginners: Practical Japanese phrases help you converse with ease. Comic strips (Japanese manga) anddialogues bring Japanese to life. Exercises help you to practice speaking and listening. An MP3 audio CD features native Japanese speakers to help you pronounce Japanese like a pro. Drills and exercises are included in each chapter to help you practice the sentence patterns and vocabulary, and MP3 audio recordings by native speakers on the free audio CD are invaluable in teaching the correct pronunciation of Japanese words About this new edition: Japanese for Beginners is now expanded to include IT, Social Media, mobile phone conversations and texting!
Call Number: PL539 .T67 2016
ISBN: 4805313676
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
A Guide to Japanese Grammar by Tae Kim The best website for learning Japanese grammar is now in print! My website (www.guidetojapanese.org) has been helping people learn Japanese as it's really spoken in Japan for many years. If you find yourself frustrated that you can't understand Japanese movies or books despite having taken Japanese classes, then this book is for you. It will help you finally understand those pesky particles and break down grammatical concepts that will allow you to comprehend anything from simple to very complex sentences. You will also learn Japanese that's spoken by real people including casual speech patterns and slang, stuff that's often left out in most textbooks. Don't take my word for it, just check out my website and order this book to have it handy wherever you go.
Call Number: PL533 .K56 2013
ISBN: 1469968142
Publication Date: 2012-06-11
Japanese Picture Dictionary by Timothy G. Stout A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Japanese--whether you're 5 or 100! This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Japanese words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given in Japanese script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 40 different themes or topics, including basics like meeting someone new and using public transportation to culture-specific topics like celebrating Japanese holidays and eating Japanese food. This colorful picture dictionary includes: Hundreds of color photographs 1,500 Japanese words and phrases 40 different topics--from social media and WiFi to paying and counting Example sentences showing how the words are used Companion online audio recordings by native Japanese speakers of all the vocabulary and sentences An introduction to Japanese pronunciation and grammar An index to allow you to quickly look up words Japanese Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Japan.
Call Number: PL679 .S76 2018
ISBN: 4805308990
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
I'm Learning Japanese! by Christian Galan; Florence Lerot-Calvo I'm Learning Japanese! takes a lighthearted approach to the Japanese language by using fun anime-style manga characters to teach Japanese. The book starts out with the main characters, Emily, Nico and Teo sitting on the grass after school, minding their own business, when--unbelievable!--a giant talking fox dressed in a kimono appears. Explaining that he knows magic, speaks many languages and is respected as asensei master, he wonders if the three kids are ready to learn Japanese from him. During the next 128 amusing pages, the three friends learn to speak, read and write Japanese, while also taking breaks to try Japanese hot-spring baths, sumo wrestling, Zen meditation and more. Focusing on exactly what the 9 to 14-year-old learner wants to know, this book is carefully set up to allow them to learn Japanese independently, at their own speed, without an adult's help. Though fun and lighthearted, this book is incredibly practical as well. By the end, students will master reading and writing the entire Hiragana alphabet, Japanese sentence structure and 23 key Kanji characters.
Call Number: PL535 .G35 2010
ISBN: 4805315539
Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Let's Learn Japanese by Aurora Cacciapuoti Accessible introduction to Japanese language and culture Perfect book for aspiring Japanese speakers young and old: Artfully illustrated and easy to follow,Let's Learn Japanese: First Words for Everyone is an ideal travel primer and companion for aspiring Japanese speakers, as well as a welcome addition to the bookshelves of language lovers of any age. Pairing words and characters with whimsical illustrations, each section features examples of word pronunciation, the three main Japanese writing systems (kanji, hiragana and katakana), and common Japanese elements. Instructive and engaging book families can use together. Great gift for travelers of any age heading to Japan. Aurora Cacciapuoti is an author and illustrator of more than a dozen children's books. For children and adults who are beginning to speak Japanese,Let's Learn Japanese: First Words for Everyone is a great place to start and learn basic words and concepts. Handy Japanese language collection pairs words and characters with whimsical illustrations. Accessible and educational Japanese language primer Easy to carry travel companion language book Books for kids ages 4-8
Call Number: PL685 .C33 2019
ISBN: 1452166250
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Japanese Stories for Language Learners by Anne McNulty; Eriko Sato; Rose Goldberg (Illustrator) A great story can lead a reader on a journey of discovery--especially if it's presented in two languages! Beautifully illustrated in a traditional style, Japanese Stories for Language Learners offers five compelling stories with English and Japanese language versions appearing on facing pages. Taking learners on an exciting cultural and linguistic journey, each story is followed by detailed translator's notes, Japanese vocabulary lists, and grammar points along with a set of discussion questions and exercises. The first two stories are very famous traditional Japanese folktales: Urashima Taro (Tale of a Fisherman) and Yuki Onna (The Snow Woman). These are followed by three short stories by notable 20th century authors: Kumo no Ito (The Spider's Thread) by Akutagawa Ryunosuke (1892-1927) Oborekaketa Kyodai (The Siblings Who Almost Drowned) by Arishima Takeo (1878-1923) Serohiki no Goshu (Gauche the Cellist) by Miyazawa Kenji (1896-1933) Reading these stories in the original Japanese script--and hearing native-speakers read them aloud in the accompanying free audio recording--helps students at every level deepen their comprehension of the beauty and subtlety of the Japanese language. Learn Japanese the fun way--through the country's rich literary history.
Call Number: PL537 .J37 2018
ISBN: 4805314680
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Learning Japanese for Real by Senko K. Maynard Concise descriptions of grammar, use, and genres make Learning Japanese for Real indispensable for adult learners of the language. The volume presents a holistic view of the knowledge required for proficiency in Japanese. Following introductory chapters on the language's background, sound system and scripts, word types, and grammatical categories, it introduces readers to simple then complex sentences. A chapter on emotive expressions contains highly useful entries on attitudinal adverbs, exclamatory phrases, interjections, and rhetorical questions--all of which carry emotive meanings. Learning Japanese for Real then goes beyond grammar to discuss how the language is used in interaction. The author discusses communication strategies such as requesting, apologizing, and inviting as well how to interact when participating in a conversation with behaviors such as hand signals, bowing, and nodding. She considers metaphor, tautology, puns, and the lingering effect of yojoo before addressing the organization of Japanese discourse, including the four-part organizational principle of ki-shoo-ten-ketsu and the structure of "staging." The final sections feature authentic examples of popular culture discourse from manga, television, advertising, magazines, and cell-phone novels and a host of practical suggestions (methods, tools, resources) for learning Japanese. Learning Japanese for Real will become an key source for Japanese language students during their elementary, intermediate, and advanced training. As an essential anthology of grammar, use, and genres of the Nihongo world, teachers of Japanese will also find it invaluable.
ISBN: 0824861051
Publication Date: 2011-03-02
Online Communication in a Second Language by Sarah E. Pasfield-Neofitou Online Communication in a Second Language examines the use of social computer mediated communication (CMC) with speakers of Japanese via longitudinal case studies of up to four years. Through the analysis of over 2000 blogs, emails, videos, messages, games, and websites, in addition to interviews with learners and their online contacts, the book explores language use and acquisition via contextual resources, repair, and peer feedback. The book provides insight into relationships online, and the influence of perceived 'ownership' of online spaces by specific cultural or linguistic groups. It not only increases our understanding of online interaction in a second language, but CMC in general. Based on empirical evidence, the study challenges traditional categorisations of CMC mediums, and provides important insights relating to turn-taking, code-switching, and language management online.
Call Number: PL519 .P37 2012
ISBN: 1847698247
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
Japanese Picture Dictionary by Timothy G. Stout A fun and helpful resource for anyone interested in learning some Japanese--whether you're 5 or 100! This picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Japanese words and phrases. Each word and sentence is given in Japanese script--with a Romanized version to help you pronounce it correctly--along with the English meaning. The words are grouped into 40 different themes or topics, including basics like meeting someone new and using public transportation to culture-specific topics like celebrating Japanese holidays and eating Japanese food. This colorful picture dictionary includes: Hundreds of color photographs 1,500 Japanese words and phrases 40 different topics--from social media and WiFi to paying and counting Example sentences showing how the words are used Companion online audio recordings by native Japanese speakers of all the vocabulary and sentences An introduction to Japanese pronunciation and grammar An index to allow you to quickly look up words Japanese Picture Dictionary makes language learning more fun than traditional phrasebooks. This resource is perfect for beginners of all ages--curious kids, visual learners and future travelers to Japan.
Call Number: PL679 .S76 2018
ISBN: 4805308990
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
How to Read a Japanese Poem by Steven D. Carter How to Read a Japanese Poem offers a comprehensive approach to making sense of traditional Japanese poetry of all genres and periods. Steven D. Carter explains to Anglophone students the methods of composition and literary interpretation used by Japanese poets, scholars, and critics from ancient times to the present, and adds commentary that will assist the modern reader. How to Read a Japanese Poem presents readings of poems by major figures such as Saigyō and Bashō as well as lesser known poets, with nearly two hundred examples that encompass all genres of Japanese poetry. The book gives attention to well-known forms such as haikai or haiku, as well as ancient songs, comic poems, and linked verse. Each chapter provides examples of a genre in chronological order, followed by notes about authorship and other contextual details, including the time of composition, physical setting, and social occasion. The commentaries focus on a central feature of Japanese poetic discourse: that poems are often occasional, written in specific situations, and are best read in light of their milieu. Carter elucidates key concepts useful in examining Japanese poetics as well as the technical vocabulary of Japanese poetic discourse, familiarizing students with critical terms and concepts. An appendix offers succinct definitions of technical terms and essays on aesthetic ideals and devices.
ISBN: 0231186827
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Developing Interactional Competence in a Japanese Study Abroad Context by Naoko Taguchi In the process of second language acquisition, the ability to interact effectively is critical. But what does it mean to be interactively competent? This book addresses this question by presenting research on the development of interactional competence among learners of Japanese as a second language. Qualitative data collected on learners studying abroad in Japan is evaluated to explain changes in their interactional competence and provides specific insights into the learning of Japanese. The situated analysis of multiple data sets generates meaningful interpretations of the development of interactional competence in the development of interactional competence and the learner-specific factors that shape developmental trajectories. Moreover, the context of the research provides insights into the types of learning resources and experiences that study abroad provides to assist learners' in their progress towards becoming a competent speaker in the target community.
Call Number: P57.J3 T28 2015
ISBN: 9781783093724
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Making Sense of Japanese Grammar by Zeljko Cipris; Shoko Hamano
ISBN: 0585467560
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
A Reference Grammar of Japanese by Samuel E. Martin This title explains the use of Japanese words such as wa, ga and mo looking at the rules and meanings of words in their literary forms.
ISBN: 0824828186
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Japanese by Stefan Kaiser; Yasuko Ichikawa; Noriko Kobayashi; Hilofumi Yamamoto Japanese: A Comprehensive Grammar is a thorough reference guide to modern Japanese grammar. With its detailed treatment of all grammatical structures, it explores the complexities of the language fully, concentrating on the real patterns of use in contemporary Japanese as spoken and written by native speakers. This edition has been fully updated throughout, incorporating a new structure now organised by topic and providing specific attention to areas of particular difficulty. Examples have been updated throughout to reflect current usage and a glossary of linguistic terms has been added. Features include: Clear grammar points put into context using examples from a range of Japanese media Inclusive coverage of both colloquial and standard Japanese Extensive cross-referencing in all parts of the book A detailed index of Japanese and English terms Written by experts in this field, Japanese: A Comprehensive Grammar will be an essential reference source for the learner and user of Japanese at all levels.
Call Number: PL533
ISBN: 9781136196454
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
Japanese Verbs and Essentials of Grammar by Rita Lampkin Offers an introduction to different verbal and grammatical concepts of the Japanese language. This book helps readers find helpful expressions covering everyday topics such as the family, the weather, directions, health and body, shopping, and more.
Call Number: PL585 .L26 2004
ISBN: 007143514X
Publication Date: 2004-04-06

JapanesePod101: The Language Pod resources are some of the best YouTube channels for learning a new language. They’re comprehensive and well-produced, so you can start out as a beginner and stick with them all the way through more intermediate lessons.

Japanese Ammo: Japanese Ammo is a great way to level up your Japanese without moving too quickly. Misa covers a variety of basic vocabulary, as well as how to write hiragana, katakana, and kanji. She also has videos on interesting topics such as texting in Japanese and “Must-know phrases when living with a Japanese partner and roommate.”

Learn Japanese from Zero: This YouTube channel is designed to get you comfortable with Japanese grammar and pronunciation from Day 1. Hosts George and Yukari will literally take you from zero to 100 million with their video lessons on Japanese numbers. There are also playlists in which George translates and analyzes video games and other media in Japanese to help you understand real-world usage of words and phrases.

Japan Society NYC: Japan Society NYC is an organization based in the U.S. dedicated to forging cultural ties between the two countries. Their YouTube channel offers a range of resources to level up your language abilities, from the basics to more advanced topics. Start with their playlist on how to read and write hiragana and katakana, then check out their videos on “levels of politeness” and common mistakes made in Japanese.

Tae Kim's Guide: This channel is less exciting than some of the other channels here since there’s no host on camera, just words on the screen. But that makes it perfect for studying hiragana, with videos that walk you through the pronunciation of each symbol. You can visit the Guide to Japanese website for free resources and grammar guides that explain some of the concepts you’ll learn in the videos.

Yuko Sensei: Yuko Sensei has been teaching Japanese at the university level for many years. For those learners who cannot attend classes or do not know where to start learning, this channel is good for online learning courses. She also offers free trial courses.

PuniPuniJapan: PuniPuniJapan’s videos are well-illustrated and narrated with clear explanations. It is more recommended for beginners who started learning Japanese. They cover topics such as katakana, grammar, vocabulary and more. Besides that, PuniPuniJapan also uploads videos about Japanese culture.

JapanesePod101: This site has thousands of podcasts to download, from total beginner level right up to advanced. Each track teaches a short conversation in Japanese, with explanation of the new words and grammar in English. You can access all the new lessons with a free membership.

Tofugu Podcast: Tofugu is a long-running podcast. The hosts take a silly and conversational approach to Japanese but deal with practical lessons, such as learning how to use counting words for objects and living things.

Learn Japanese Pod: This Japanese learning podcast is hosted by Alex, who created the website to improve his own language skills, and Asuka, a native of Japan who speaks several languages. It’s a good choice for the beginner who needs to master useful Japanese phrases and vocabulary. The typical show format features a handful of short conversations between the pair, conducted in Japanese. They’re designed to illustrate how certain words and phrases are used.

News in Slow Japanese: The title says it all. This fabulous learning resource features a different fun news topic every week which is read out in slow, clear and precise Japanese. Every syllable can be easily heard. If you’re feeling adventurous and want to stretch yourself a little, you can listen to a faster version of each slow news story.

Bilingual News: Bilingual News is one of the best podcasts for people looking to improve their listening comprehension. You’ll hear casual conversation about the latest news in both English and Japanese, and you can follow along with the transcripts that are available on the downloadable smartphone app.

Easy Japanese NHK: NHK is Japan’s public broadcasting station. They offer free audio lessons for students of Japanese. There are 48 “Easy Japanese” lessons and PDF transcripts on the site which you can listen to online or download to listen to on your favorite podcast app.

Learning Japanese Podcasts: This webpage provides links to supplementary Japanese podcasts, some of which are listed on this page.

Dr. Moku's Mnemonics: Dr. Moku’s Hiragana and Katakana Mnemonics are 2 separate apps. One for Hiragana and one for Katakana. In the app, they associate all the kana with pictures, making it easy for you to remember them. It is also very efficient as it makes use of mnemonic hacks as compared to just rote memorization, which is a lot more useful when learning vast amounts of information.

Japanese: This Japanese dictionary understands how a user thinks: on opening, it presents you with a search bar to immediately type in, but also a handwriting, has an incredibly useful list of conjugations for every verb.kanji component and SKIP search option, all on the same page.It contains an audio clip for all entries and has the clearest layout for examples with hiragana above the kanji used and each kanji displayed underneath with their meanings. Japanese also has an incredibly useful list of conjugations for every verb.

Tae Kim's Guide to Learning Japanese: Tae Kim's Guide s packed with logically organized lessons, beautifully clear explanations, and conjugation tables, and there are even some exercises for the first chapters on basic grammar. A list of vocabulary used in examples is given for every lesson, with the kanji, readings, and English meanings, allowing you to pick up new words whilst also seeing the grammar work in context.

Tango.Risto: A Japanese learning app that will allow you to pick the materials that you would like to read and then turn the words into different vocabulary levels. Tango Risto is a graded reading application that is developed by an engineer and researcher of language processing.This app is unique because you can import your own documents and read them in Japanese.

Todai: This app is a great way to learn Kanji while keeping up with the latest news in Japan. On top of all the kanji appearing in the news articles, there will be furigana provided so that you can familiarize yourself with the various kanji readings. It also serves as a simple way to practice your Japanese reading skills every day while learning relevant information about what is going on around the world.

Learn Japanese - Phrasebook for Travel in Japan: Learn Japanese is an easy to use mobile Japanese phrasebook that will give visitors to Japan and those who are interested in learning Japanese a good start in the language. Learn Japanese is recorded using a native speaker to be authentic in the pronunciation whilst ensuring it is easy to understand.

Mango Languages: The sweet and simple language learning app, this app is geared towards teaching you practical phrases and having you use them in everyday life. The content is very auditory-heavy, with clear voice recordings of every phrase and prompts to repeat and record yourself. Vocabulary and grammar lessons are combined together in units called “getting around”, “asking opinions”, and similar phrases. We loved the timer feature on the lesson quizzes, which added a competitive edge, as well as the option to download lessons offline.

DuoLingo: You can begin the lessons without any previous knowledge of hiragana or katakana with DuoLingo and testing past beginner levels is available. All the lessons are grouped into fun categories that range anywhere from food and family to subculture. There’s even an Olympics category in anticipation of the Tokyo 2020 games.

Drops: All the new verbs are 100% illustrated which reduces the chances of you using another language to identify and then translate. The short duration of each gamified session is both fun and addictive which is key in learning a new language. You do have to remember that Drops only offers verbs. There aren’t any grammar or expressions. So if you want to expand your vocabulary and know more words, this is the ideal app for you.

Memrise: Memrise is a free app that has tons of user-created courses. These can be anything from characters to restaurant items to slang words. It’s sort of a gamified flashcard system that you can use to learn new characters. It also uses mnemonics but the quality can vary significantly on a course by course basis.

Floor		Resources
One		Center for Academic Success: University Learning/Testing Center Electronic Classroom Broadcast Video Productions Resource for Education Technology UTS - Media Equipment Services Distance Learning Electronic Classroom Instructional Photography & Graphics
Two		Information & Research Services Curriculum & Juvenile Collection LACiC - Latin American and Caribbean Center Government Documents GIS-RS Center & Teaching Lab Maps & Imagery User Statistics
Three		Periodicals & Newspapers Laptop Lounge Honors College Student Resource Center College of Medicine Library Copiers Systems
Four		College of Medicine Special Collections & Archivese Academic Space Management School of Social Work Study Area
Five		Audiovisual Collection Diaz Ayala Collection Architecture and Fine Arts (General Collection and Periodical Section N) Music (General Collection and Periodical Section M) Music Listening Room Music CAI Center Spanish Resource Center Group Study Rooms
Six		Quiet Study Space Group Study Rooms General Collection HJ-L & P-Z Oversized Books
Seven		General Collection A-HG Quiet Study Floor Group Study Rooms
Eight		Library Administration Collection Management Digital Collections Center

Floor		Resources
One		Circulation Course Reserves Intercampus/Interlibrary Loan Information and Research Services Center for Excellence in Writing Communication Arts Studio Computer Labs/Copiers
Two		Microforms Periodicals Juvenile Collection Oversize Collection Video Collection Government Documents Reference Workroom Reference Collection Copiers
Three		General Collection, A-Z Library Administration

Language Studies: Japanese, Korean, & Chinese

Japanese Language Resources

Information

Libraries

Contact